Principal Correspondent

NEW DELHI: Siddharth Suchde and Gaurav Nandrajog provided some fireworks on an otherwise dull opening day, which saw several walkovers and one-sided contests in the 54th National squash championships at the Delhi Gymkhana Club here on Wednesday.

The third-seeded Suchde from Maharashtra romped home in less than 20 minutes beating Vijay Kumar of Delhi 9-0, 9-1, 9-4 to make it to the third round in the men's singles event.

The fourth-seeded Nandrajog of Tamil Nadu defeated another Delhi player, Siddharth Sharma, with an identical scoreline.

The top two seeded players, Ritwik Bhattacharya and Saurav Ghosal, were left without any warm-up as their second-round opponents failed turn up.

Bhattacharya and Ghosal had first-round byes.

"It has been three days since I am in Delhi, but haven't played a match so far," rued Bhattacharya,.

Performance at the Nationals will be crucial for selection of the Indian team for the Doha Asian Games in December.

The Squash Rackets Federation of India (SRFI) will send two men and two women for the games after having skipped Melbourne Commonwealth Games this March.

The results: Men: Second round:

Suhail Kapur (Del) bt Shantanu Shankar (Del) 9-4, 9-7, 9-1; Rishi Jalan (Raj) bt Kushwant Singh (Chd) 9-0, 9-6, 10-8; Amjad Khan (Del) bt Raghav Behl (Del) 9-3, 9-2, 9-0; Naresh Kumar (TN) bt Harish Khanna (Del) 9-1, 9-2, 9-0.

Arunabh Bainarjee (Del) bt Manzoor Ahmad Bhat (J & K) 9-0, 9-0, 9-0; Apurv Jalan (Del) bt Om Shankar Dubey (UP) 9-1, 9-3, 9-1; Harinder Pal Singh (TN) bt Ayush Maheshwary (Ben) 9-0, 9-2, 9-0.

Himanshu Shukla (UP) bt Arjun Bhalla (Del) 9-0, 9-2, 9-5; Ravi Dixit (TN) bt Sikandar Kamal (Del) 9-1, 9-0, 9-3; Ramit Tandon (TN) bt Harjinder Singh (Mah) 9-6, 10-8, 9-2; Shiv Diwaan (Del) bt Kapil Muraji (Raj) 9-0, 9-7, 9-5; Anshuman Chowdhary (Ser) bt Kshitij Seth (Del) 9-6, 9-5, 9-1; Gaurav Nandrajog (TN) bt Siddharth Sharma (Del) 9-1, 9-4, 9-0; Siddharth Suchde (Mah) bt Vijay Kumar (Del) 9-0, 9-1, 9-4; Karan Malik (TN) bt Sikander Khan (MP) 9-0, 9-5, 9-1; Uday Daas (Del) bt Vinay Thakur (Chd) 9-1, 9-1, 9-0.

Abhishek Jai Singh (UP) bt Mohammed Saquib (UP) 7-9, 9-7, 9-3, 9-2; Aman Sharma (MP) bt Piyush Kesarwani (UP) 2-9, 9-2, 7-9, 9-5, 9-6; Gautam Sharma (Raj) bt Paramjit Gill (Har) 9-2, 9-0, 9-0; Paramit Singh (TN) bt Akul Kumar Singh (Del) 9-1, 9-0, 9-1; Imran Khan (Del) bt Saurabh Suman Agarwal (UP) 9-0, 9-1, 9-2.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper