KOCHI: Seasoned stars Ajay Kudua (81) and C.M. Deepak (69) came good as Swantons CC stunned BPCL Kochi Refinery by six wickets and won the first phase title in the 56th all-India Pooja cricket tournament at the Palace Oval, Tripunithura, on Sunday.

The victory carried Swantons to the main phase of the tournament, which is likely to begin on October 30.

The scores: BPCL Kochi Refinery (Ernakulam) 242 for nine in 45 overs (K.J. Rakesh 50, Samad 48) lost to Swantons (Ernakulam) 246 for four in 41.4 overs (Ajay Kudua 81, C.M. Deepak 69, Praveen Achuthan 45 n.o.).

Adarsh, Aparna triumph

P. Adarsh (Capstock) and Aparna D. Nair (NKM) bagged the men's and women's titles respectively in the sixth RSC all-Kerala Open table tennis tournament which concluded at Kochi's Rajiv Gandhi indoor stadium on Sunday evening.

S. Arjun and Lakshmi Vijayan emerged as the youth boys' and girls' champions while Angelo Purathur and Shikha Jacob triumphed in the junior section.

The results (finals): Men: P. Adarsh (Capstock) bt M.R. Rajeev (Tsr) 11-6, 11-8, 11-4, 9-11, 11-7.

Youth boys: S. Arjun (KNM) bt Sarath V. Joy (AYTTA) 11-9, 119, 11-6, 11-5.

Junior boys: Angelo Purathur (Tsr) bt Sarath V. Joy (Alp) 11-6, 11-3, 11-9, 11-7.

Veteran men: V.T. Monish (BPCL) bt C.G. Ramachadran (Ekm) 10-12, 11-7, 7-11, 11-5, 13-11.

Women: Aparna D. Nair (NKM) bt Meenu Raj (Tvm) 11-6, 9-11, 11-7, 11-13, 11-2, 15-13.

Youth girls: Lakshmi Vijayan (NKM) bt Aparna D. Nair 11-8, 12-10, 5-11, 6-11, 5-11, 11-3, 11-7.

Junior girls: Shikha Jacob (AYTTA) bt Liya Chacko (RSC) 11-7, 11-9, 11-7, 11-7.

St. Joseph's in final

St. Joseph's (Pulincunnu) will meet St. Ephrem's (Mananam) in the boys' final of the 12th Chavara Trophy all-Kerala inter-school basketball tournament at Kristu Jyoti Ground, Chethipuzha, near Changanassery, on Monday.

The results (semifinals): St. Ephrem's HSS (Mananam) bt G.V. Raja (Tvm) 68-48; St. Joseph's (Pulincunnu) bt St. Joseph's (Thiruvananthapuram) 53-48.

Silver jubilee Trophy boys volleyball: CHSS (Chentrapinni) bt G.V. Raja (Tvm) 25-16, 25-18; S.N. Vidya Bhavan (Chentrapinni) bt St. George HSS (Vazhathope) 12-25, 25-10, 25-13.

Placid Decennial Trophy boys handball: SRV Govt. Model HSS (Ekm) bt St. Joseph's (Tvm) 22-20; SMV Model HSS (Tvm) bt Placid Vidya Vihar (Chentrapinni) 25-19.

St. George HSS wins

St. George HSS (Kothamangalam, 1016.5 points) won the overall championship in the 50th Ernakulam District athletic championship, which concluded at the Sacred Heart College's Lake View Stadium in Kochi on Sunday. Mar Basil HSS (Kothamangalam, 992) finished runner-up while Mar Athanasius College (Kothamangalam, 364) was third. Principal Correspondent

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper