Mohali: A. Dinda's five-wicket haul helped Bengal snatch an exciting 14-run victory over Punjab with a day to spare in a Ranji Trophy Super League encounter here on Saturday.

Set a modest target of 147, Punjab was dismissed for just 133. Dinda struck at regular intervals, while former India skipper Sourav Ganguly picked up two wickets including that of key batsman R.S. Sodhi.

Ganguly had taken three wickets in the first innings to help bowl out Punjab for 157, one run more than Bengal's score. The only man to resist for Punjab was G. Gupta, who scored 41 before falling in the end to Dinda.

Earlier, resuming at 112 for four, Bengal was bowled out for 148 in 50 overs. For Punjab, V.R.V. Singh took four wickets.

Ganguly was cautioned by the match referee for showing dissent at an umpiring decision. ``We cautioned him as he had shown dissent, but the issue is settled now,'' match referee Rajo Pankule told.

He said Ganguly had shown dissent after umpire S Ravindram turned down one of his appeals.

Talking to reporters after his team's victory over Punjab, Ganguly tried to play down the incident. ``There was lot of noise on the field and we got a bit excited. The match referee asked what had happened, but that was it,'' he said.

The scores: Super Division: At Mohali: Bengal 156 and 148 in 50 overs (A.A. Jhunjhunwala 46, S.C. Ganguly 43, V.R.V. Singh four for 53) bt Punjab 157 and 133 in 59.3 overs (G. Gupta 41, A. Dinda five for 57).

At Vadodara: Karnataka 85 and 283 in 90 overs (D. Chougule 61, T. Naidu 57, R. Patel four for 71, R. Pawar four for 83) lost to Baroda 257 and 115 for three in 46.3 overs (R. Parab 54).

At Ahmedabad: Rajasthan 204 and 204 in 63 overs (G. Khoda 100, T. Patel five for 46) bt Gujarat 128 and 142 in 58.1 overs (P. Patel 57).

At Karad: Hyderabad 385 in 128.1 overs (D.B. Ravi Teja 84, Anirudh Singh 114, Indrasekhar Reddy 53 not out, A. Sanclecha six for 60) vs. Maharashtra 20 without loss in 9.4 overs.

At Kanpur: Saurashtra 342 and 77 for two in 23 overs vs. Uttar Pradesh 450 in 130.3 overs (S. Shukla 43, Ravikant Shukla 135, Jyoti Yadav 88, P. Chawla 75, S. Jobanputra four for 85).

At Rohtak: Andhra 202 and 168 in 57 overs (Joginder Sharma seven for 41) vs. Haryana 129 and 92 for three. At New Delhi: Tamil Nadu 347 vs. Delhi 309 for five (S. Dhawan 106, R. Bhatia 101 batting, V. Dahiya 51 batting, V. Yomahesh four for 92).

Plate Division: At Cuttack: Services 346 vs. Orissa 261 for six in 119.4 overs (N. Behra 52, Haladhar Das 56 batting, Debasis Mohanty 47 batting).

At Guwahati: Goa 134 and 99 for nine in 37 overs vs. Assam 410 for eight decl. (Sarvanand 109 not out, Parag Das 50, J. Arun Kumar 78).

At Palakkad: Kerala 291 and 70 for one in 22 overs (S. Ramesh 49 batting) vs. Vidarbha 346 in 130.3 overs (Faiz Fazal 70, O.Afzal 46, S. Khare 40, C. Atram 53).

At New Delhi: Railways 303 and 120 (T. P. Singh 55, T. P. Sudhindra four for 33, Anand Rajan four for 69). Madhya Pradesh 158 and 79 for four (M. D. Mishra 34 batting, Jai Prakash Yadav three for five).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper