HYDERABAD: ESS XI scored a six-wicket win over Ranga Reddy in the final of the fifth Merupula Ananthramulu Goud Memorial Cup women's cricket tournament here on Sunday.

The scores: Ranga Reddy 139 for four in 30 overs (Sravanthi 41) lost to ESS XI 140 for four in 28.2 overs (Swetha 33).

Biotranz posts win

Biotranz defeated Quick Silver 2-0 in the final of the Royal Sports Management Corporate Cup football tournament at Gymkhana Grounds here. Wingers Praveen and Ravi Raj struck once each.

Special prizes were given to Dharamchand (best player), Praveen (top-scorer) and Harian (best goalkeeper). Former India football captain Victor Amalraj gave away the prizes.

Jagmohan to lead

G. Jagmohan Kumar will lead Andhra Pradesh in the inaugural South Zone cricket championship for deaf to be held in Bangalore from November 20 to 24.

The team: G. Jagmohan Kumar (capt), K. Satish Kumar (vice-capt), P. Santosh Kumar, V. Madhava Reddy, M. Anji Reddy, R. Sunil Kumar, M. Sanjeev Goud, K. Pavan Kumar, Mushtaq Khan, Ch. Edukondalu, T. Anil, Y. Sridhar Babu, S. Rajathiburathi and Quddus Mohd Khan. Coach: D. Vidya Sagar. Manager: G. Anil Kumar.

Tournament revived

The once-prestigious Nizam Gold Cup all-India football tournament will be revived in January next, according to Iftekhar Shareef, chief patron of the AP Football Association. The last time the event was organised in 1992. He would also take up the construction of the first-ever full-fledged cricket stadium in USA in Chicago very soon.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper