BANGALORE: The fourth day of the junior National equestrian championship witnessed some commanding performances from the young riders. Hrishika Basappa of Embassy International Riding School impressed with her steed Norfolking to win the SIEC jumping normal young rider event and Anant Rajpurohit of ASC Centre astride Viking bagged the SIEC dressage event for juniors.

The results: SIEC jumping normal young rider: 1. Hrishika Basappa/ Norfolking (EIRS), 2. Aliya Dasgupta/ Ruskin (EIRS), 3. Arjun Verma/ Pralay (ASC Centre).

SIEC dressage junior: 1. Anant Raj Purohit/ Viking (ASC Centre), 2. Karan Virwani/ Ronson (EIRS), 3. Adhiraj Mukherji/ Royal Flame (Confident Group).

SIEC jumping normal children II: 1. Anantya Sahney/ El Dorado (ECE), 2. Vivek Verma/ Ferraro (Lawrence School), 3. Shiva Rao/ Panchall (ASC Centre).

Sunday's results: SIEC dressage young rider: 1. Udai Singh/ Moonflower (RTS Depot), 2. Hrishika Basappa/ Slash (EIRS), 3. Udai Singh/ Mastan (RTS Depot).

NEC jumping medium knock-out: 1. Aliya Dasgupta/ Hannibal (EIRS), 2. Dfr Bhoom Singh/ Virat (61st Cavalry), 3. Maj. Rohit Dagar/ Taqdeer (61st Cavalry).

Golf tournament

Strong field of professional golfers led by Asian Tour card holders S.S.P. Chowrasia, Gaurav Ghei, Harmeet Kahlon, Amandeep Johl, Ashok Kumar, Rahil Gangjee and Digvijay Singh will tee off in the EMAAR-MGF Professional Golf Tour of India tournament set to begin at the Karnataka Golf Association course from December 19 to 23.

Top stars like Mukesh Kumar and Arjun Singh and recently turned professionals and silver medallists at the Asian Games, Gaganjeet Bhullar and Chiragh Kumar, will clash for the winners' purse of Rs. 8,10,000. The total prize-money on offer is Rs. 50 lakhs.

Chowrasia, who narrowly missed the `rookie of the year' award on the Asian Tour, will be one of the top contenders. Gaganjeet and Chiragh, too, will be striving hard to make a mark in their first-ever pro tournament. Both are familiar with the KGA course and have had some good outings here during their amateur days.

Nine-wkt. win

Naveen's unbeaten 91guided Young Challenging Cricketers to a nine-wicket victory over Merchants CC in an Arjun Properties Adya Cup cricket tournament match on Monday.

The scores: Merchants CC 168 for eight in 25 overs (T. Dilip 58, M.S. Vinay five for 16) lost to Young Challenging Cricketers 174 for one in 14 overs (Naveen 91 n.o., Chandrashekar 43); Huttons CC 120 in 24.2 overs lost to Wilson Garden CC 124 for five in 23.1 overs; Engrades CC 192 for eight in 30 overs (Tilak 70) lost to City Gymkhana 194 for six in 22.4 overs (Mithun 59, Rohit 41); Bowlers CC 154 for nine in 30 overs (Manjunath Naik 45, D.N. Satish four for 48) bt MUCC 150 in 28.3 overs.

National throwball

Karnataka Throwball Associaton will conduct the 17th junior National championship at Tiptur from December 23 to 25. According to the organisers, 23 teams have confirmed their entries. The Throwball Federation of India will select the Indian team for the Asian Junior Championship scheduled to be held at Singapore in January 2007 after the National meet.

Uday Prabhu honoured

The noted athletic coach, Uday K. Prabhu who was recently conferred with the Dhyan Chand national award, was felicitated by the Bangalore Sports Club here on Sunday. He was presented with a memento and cash award of Rs. 1 lakh.

Anchala advances

Anchala Dave and Sahana Ramachandra scored hard fought wins in the girls' under-18 singles opening round of the Mahila Seva Samaj's annual State-ranking junior tennis championship at the club courts here on Monday. Anchala defeated Vrushaka 8-7(4) and Sahana ousted Anina Simon 8-7(3) in the best of 15 game ties.

In the boys' under-10 singles, S. Kisan prevailed over G.K. Anirudh 6-5(7) in a best of 11 game first round match, while Sanchit Jain defeated H.R. Advaith 6-5(7).

Siddarth, Preethi win

C.S. Siddarth and Preethi Ujjini claimed the boys' and girls' singles titles respectively in the BEL officers Club's State-level under-12 tennis championship here. Siddarth defeated K. Sriram 6-3, 6-4 in the boys' final while Preethi humbled Reshma 6-2, 6-2 in the girls' title clash.

Abhijith excels

Abhijith's all-round show (four for 49 and 59 not out) along with fellow-opener Nihal Unni's unbeaten 69 helped Frank Anthony Public School (FAPS) defeat VVS Sardar Patel School by 10-wickets here in a Parle Cup under-17 inter-school tournament quarterfinal match.

The scores (quarterfinals): VVS Sardar Patel School 168 in 54.3 overs and 134 in 29.5 overs (Abhijith four for 49) lost to FAPS 159 in 50.1 overs and 146 for no loss in 24.5 overs (Nihal Unni 69 n.o., Abhijith 59 n.o.).

Presidency School, RT Nagar 296 for nine in 55 overs bt BGS International Res. School 107 in 50.1 overs (Jaggesh Sharma five for 25) and 128 for eight in 30 overs (Amog Varsha four for 31, Jaggesh Sharma four for 35).

SJBHS 135 in 54.4 overs and 187 for three in 30 overs (Ripunjay Acharya 63, Vinoop Manoharan 48, Dinesh Borwankar 46 n.o.) bt Bishop Cotton Boys' School 139 in 49.3 overs and 173 in 29.1 overs (Mohd Omar 47).

President's XI triumphs

President's XI emerged the champion in the KSCA inter-zonal under-13 tournament that concluded here during the weekend.

The scores (final): President's XI 178 for seven in 75 overs and 77 for two in 32 overs (Shreyas Gopal 43 n.o.) drew with Tumkur Zone 139 in 74.1 overs (Shreyas Mova 57, P.D. Nitesh four for 41).

Title for KV

Kendriya Vidyalaya, Hebbal, emerged champion in the Columbia Asia inter-school football tournament in Bangalore. In the final, it defeated Kendriya Vidyalaya, Jalahalli, 4-2.

Big win

Helped by S.P. Manjunath's 110 and some good medium-pace bowling by C. Sunil (six for 29), RBNCC `A' posted a big 179-run win over Mohan's XI in the KSCA Mysore Zone first division league encounter at Mysore on Sunday.

The scores: First Division: RBNCC `A' 246 in 48 overs (S.P. Manjunath 110, Lalith Kumar Gulecha four for 90) bt Mohan's XI 67 in 16.3 overs (C. Sunil six for 29).

At Mandya: Second Division: City Cricketers (Mandya) 61 in 21.3 overs (S. Vibhunendra four for four) lost to Karavali Cricketers 62 for five in 17 overs.

Iqbal nets winner

Mukkacherri Arts and Sports Club (MASC) beat New Mangalore Port Trust (Panambur) by a solitary goal in a `B' division football league match at Mangalore on Monday.

Iqbal scored the winner in the 25th minute of the first half.

In an `A' division tie, Kasba FC and Merchants FC played out a goalless draw.

Navin in final

Navin and Vikash entered the finals of the 96kg and 56kg category respectively in the all-India inter-varsity wrestling championship, which began at Gulbarga on Monday.

The results: semifinals: Men: 96kg: Navin bt Jitendra Singh 3-0; Rohit Patil bt J. Singh (by fall); 56kg: Vikash bt Sandeep (fall); Suresh Aihole bt Sandeep Singh 3-1.

Women: Priyanka bt Santoshi; Suresh bt Kamaljeet Kaur.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper