NEW DELHI: A splendid strike by Ifeanyi Nekenchor helped Indian National to a 1-0 victory over Amity United Club, Haryana, in the final of the fifth Lt. Governor’s Cup DDA football tournament under the floodlights at the Ambedkar Stadium here on Thursday.

Nationals, coached by Bernard Oparanozie, was clearly the superior side. Nekanchor’s opportunistic goal ensured that Nationals translated its dominance into a deserving achievement.

Counter attack

In a counter-attack, Nekanchor dodged a defender and moved up to the left edge of the box and created space to beat goalkeeper Yogesh with a powerful left-footer. The ball went in off the goalkeeper’s palm.

Yogesh later brought up a splendid save when he kept out an Amjad Hussain drive from the top of the box.

Rishi revels

The first half was equally contested, with both teams relying on counter-attack. Rishi Kapoor played a leading role for Nationals with some sterling work in the defence. Showing exceptional anticipation he twice thwarted Amity United’s N.D. Opara.

Once Opara shot wide after being challenged in time by Kapoor. On the second occasion, Kapoor gave Opara little space close to the goal forcing the latter to take a hurried shot.

Indian National also had its moments and the best came in the initial stages but Ifeanyi made a mess from inside the small box, by shooting over. He did eventually compensate with the match-winner, to be declared the ‘man of the match’.

The champion team was presented Rs. two lakh and the runner-up Rs. one lakh.

Other awards:

Most disciplined team: Punjab Police, Jalandhar; Best player: Milagres Gonzalves (GFAA).

Best goalkeeper: Anil Kumar (IAF); Best defender: Yaro (IAF); Best forward: Danny Lalduhawma (Amity United).

Ravi finishes first

Ravi Rathore astride Remarkable came up with clear rounds to clinch the first place in the grade ‘III’ show jumping event in the Delhi Horse Show at the Army Equestrian Centre, Delhi Cantonment, here.

The 30-year-old Major Rathore of the 61st Cavalry had a clear round both in the initial stage when there were 12 obstacles and later when there were only four obstacles. Ravinder Siongh (Tara) and Gulab Singh (Vijay) dropped an obstacle each in the jump-off and were placed second and third respectively on the basis of their time.

In cadet jumping, Nagender Singh (Golfer) won the event ahead of A. Rathee (Amazing Grace) and Nikhil Chaudhary (Naya Chore).

In the under-14 Jumping Normal, Abhinav Mitra (Veeru) beat Tarun (Marshal) and Shaurya Bali (Thunderpool) to the top position.

In the children under-10 dressage event, Aditya Awasthi (Nasija) finished ahead of Raunaq Anand (Tazaben) and Ritwik Bhargava.

In children udner-10 jumping Fault and Out, Rajbir Singh (Thunder) was placed first ahead of H.S. Virk (Milestone) and Rohit Kumar (Parwana).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper