Sandipan Chanda triumphs

print   ·   T  T  
Sandipan Chanda.
Sandipan Chanda.

Principal Correspondent

HYDERABAD: World Cup qualifier and GM Sandipan Chanda, who suffered a surprise loss in the first round to Vikramjit Singh, came back strongly in the final rounds to clinch the SBI National rapid chess championship organised by Cyber Chess Academy at Jubilee Hills International Centre here on Thursday.

The 26-year-old PSPB player finished with nine points from 11 rounds to emerge a clear winner ahead five others who were closely following him.

In the final round game on Wednesday, Chanda settled for a draw against GM Tejas Bakre of Indian Airlines. Chanda later remarked that it was a great feeling to lift his maiden rapid title. “This venue is lucky for me. I had won the Global Trust Bank title here, in 2002,” he recalled.

R. R. Laxman of ICF, N. Sudhakar Babu of Indian Bank, Saptharshi Roy Choudhury of Railways, Tejas Bakre of Indian Airlines and M. R. Venkatesh of PSPB all finished with eight points but were placed in that order according to their tie-break scores.

Chanda received a winner’s puprse of Rs 50,000. Former World under-18 champion Aarthie Ramaswamy was adjudged ‘best woman player’ of the event.

Final placings: 1. Sandipan Chanda (9 pts), 2. R. R. Laxman (8), 3. N. Sudhakar Babu (8), 4. Saptarshi Roy Chowdhury (8), 5. Tejas Bakre (8), 6. M. R. Venkatesh (8), 7. R. B. Ramesh (7.5), 8. Parimarjan Negi (7.5), 9. Dinesh Sharma (7.5), 10. Deep Sen Gupta (7).

Special prizes: Boys: U-17: M. R. Lalith Babu. U-14: K. Praneeth Surya.

Girls: U-17: Y. Pavani Reddy; U-14: K. Kavya Srishti.

Best unrated player: Manas Lakshmi Prasad; Best veteran: V. Koshy; Best woman player: Aarthie Ramaswamy.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper



Recent Article in SPORT

Fair Play hands West Ham Europa berth

West Ham United has qualified for next season’s Europa League by topping the Premier League’s Fair Play table, the London club announced... »