KOLKATA: The Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB), on Saturday, felicitated former Bengal captain Shyam Sundar Mitra with Kartick Bose Lifetime Achievement Award at a function in Eden Gardens.

Mitra made his Ranji Trophy debut in 1958-59 and went on to play till 1971-72. He played 46 Ranji matches and his highest score was 155 against Assam in 1965-66. He led Bengal for two seasons beginning 1967-68.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Wriddhiman Saha was adjudged the ‘Cricketer of the Year’ and Ria Chowdhury was ‘Best Senior Woman Cricketer’.

Ranadeb Bose was adjudged the best ‘Fast Bowler of the Year’ while Sayan Sekhar Mondal was declared ‘Best Under-19 Player’. Kalighat Club won three titles and Mohun Bagan annexed two in the senior section.

Gopal Krishna Gandhi, Governor of West Bengal, was the chief guest and gave away the trophies.

Other award winners: Best U-16: Vivek Singh; junior: Barun Maheswari; sub-junior: Abhimanyu Easwaran; U-19 woman: Annesha Moitra; University: Subhajit Banerjee, U-16 school: Raj Kamal Prasad. – Special Correspondent

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper