NEW DELHI: M.R. Lalith Babu overpowered B. Adhiban and P. Karthikeyan defeated Dutchman Ivo Wantola to join three others in the lead at five points after six rounds of the Leiden chess tournament in Holland, on Thursday.

At Balaguer, Spain, G.N. Gopal moved to the tied second spot with 3.5 points after beating Dominican Republic’s Ramon Mateo.

Top seed Tania Sachdev finished her campaign in the Donostia Chess Festival with a victory over Slovania’s Vesna Rozic in the ninth and final round at San Sebastian, to finish tied second alongside Yana Melnikova.

Sophie Millet took the title.

The results (involving Indians):

Leiden tournament (sixth round): M.R. Lalith Babu (5) bt B. Adhiban (4); Ivo Wantola (Ned, 4) lost to P. Karthikeyan (5); Shyam Sundar (4) drew with Daniel Naroditskey (USA, 4.5); Shreyansh Daklia (4.5) bt Hans Galje (Ned, 3.5); Soumya Swaminathan (4) bt Martin Glimmerveen (Ned, 3); Herman van Halderen (Ned, 3) lost to V.A.V. Rajesh (4); Padmini Rout (4) bt Niels van Splunter (Ned, 3); Michael Kubbenga (Ned, 3) lost to Kiran Manisha Mohanty (4); Quinten Ducarmon (Ned, 3.5) drew with S. Harini (3.5); P. Uthra (2.5) lost to Jan van Overdam (Ned, 3.5); Melchior Vesters (Ned, 2) lost to R. Meenu (3).

Balaguer International (fourth round): Kiril Georgiev (Bul, 4) bt Aditya Udeshi (3); Ramon Mateo (Dom, 2.5) lost to G.N. Gopal (3.5); Shalmali Gagare (2) lost to Alexander Ipatov (Esp, 3); R. Bharathi (2.5) drew with Jordan Ivanov (Bul, 2.5); Kiprian Berbatov (Bul, 3) bt Deepthamsh Reddy (2); Slobodan Kovacevic (Srb, 3) bt J. Saranya (2); Devangi Patankar (3) bt Rafael Colas (Esp, 2); Nieves Garcia (Esp, 1.5) lost to K. Priyadharshan (2.5); Albert Ramon (Esp, 1.5) lost to Debashis Das (2.5); Pallabi Roy (1.5) lost to Heikki Westerinen (Fin, 2.5); Rucha Pujari (2.5) bt Girish Koushik (1.5); Fenil Shah (2.5) bt Antonio Enterria (Esp, 1.5); Josep Llop (Esp, 1) lost to Rakesh Kulkarni (2); Shristi Shetty (2) bt Lluis Febrero (Esp, 1).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper