CHENNAI: C.R. Visswanathan has been elected President of the Chennai Football Association in the elections held on Sunday under the supervision of the Tamil Nadu Football Association.

He beat his rival A. Ghulam Hussain by a margin of four votes (47-43). E. Sugumaran retained the Secretary’s post with a handsome 50-40 win over P.S. Kanniyan, who had the backing of Mr. Visswanathan’s group.

D.V. Sundar, the Joint Secretary of the Tamil Nadu Olympic Association, who was given the task of conducting the election said, “Everything went off smoothly. Everyone cooperated. In all 90 votes were polled,” he said.

Other office bearers: Vice-Presidents: J.M. Fernando, M. Kumaresh, K. Madurai, V.M. Pugalendran; Treasurer: P.M. Radhakrishnan ; Assistant Secretaries: A. Anandan, S. Anandaraj, S. Kantharajan; Executive Committee: A.U. Celestine, I. Gandhi, Gnanaprakasam, T. Kalaivanan, S. Mohanraj, P. Munuswamy, B. Ravikumar David, R. Shanmugham, C.V. Shanthakumar, K. Thiyagarajan.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper