HYDERABAD: Hyderabad Public School (Ramanthapur) and St. Pious High School won the boys and girls’ sections respectively in the 21st Regal Sports inter-school volleyball tournament for the Naresh Memorial Trophy at Musheerabad Playground here on Sunday evening.

In the boys’ final, HPS defeated Swaminarayan Gurukul School 25-15, 25-21 with Parmesh, Ranapratap combining well. For the loser, Gautam Banka, Manoj Patil and Romin Patil played well.

In the girls’ final, St. Pious got the better of Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan (Jubilee Hills) 25-20, 25-19 with Bhavani, Kavita and Varalaxmi playing well. Sahithi, Satwika Reddy and Poojitha put up a good show for the loser.

Mr. K. Narsaiah, Special Officer, AP Sports School, gave away the prizes, while M. B. Narsimlu, organising secretary, proposed vote of thanks.

Venu shocks Martin

M. Venugopal Rao of AGORC shocked former State champion Martin Menezes of GHMC 17-0, 15-4 in the men’s singles second round of the ninth V. Ram Mohan Rao Memorial State-ranking carrom tournament at AG’s Office here.

The results: 2nd round: R. D. Dinesh Babu bt K. Akash 14-0, 11-0; Subba Rao bt Chinna 18-0, 14-3; K. Devender bt K. Satya Prakash 8-3, 7-6; Shafiq bt Asif 11-0, 17-11; Muneer Ahmed bt Sandeep 14-1, 20-6; P. S. Uday Kumar bt Sai Baba 13-7, 4-9, 11-7; Wasim bt Abdullah 15-4, 17-0; J. M. M. Sharma bt N. Anbaraj 8-5, 3-6, 11-6; V. Anil Kumar bt S. Rana 15-9, 25-0; M. Venugopal Rao bt Martin Menezes 17-0, 15-4.

Athletics meet

Hyderabad District Athletics Association will organise a district athletics meet for boys and girls (under-14 and 16 years) at Nizam College on August 31 from 6.30 a.m.

Competitions will be held in 60m, 200m, 800m, long jump, shot put and high jump for under-14 category and in under-16 category in 100m, 400m, 800m, 1500m, high jump, long jump, shot put, javelin and discus.

The district team for the seventh National inter-district athletics meet to be held at Haridwar will be selected during the above meet.

Spot entries are also accepted and further details can be had from Dr. Rajesh Kumar on Phone No. 92465 29013 or K. M. Chisty, organising secretary (Phone No. 99894 33671).

A-Division volleyball

Hyderabad District Volleyball Association will organise the A-Division league championship for men for the Nalla Malla Reddy Engineering College Trophy at Rajiv Gandhi Indoor Stadium (Amberpet) here from August 25 to 30.

The teams which have confirmed participation are AOC Centre, Amberpet Playground, Central Excise, Hyderabad Postal, Army Red, Army Green, South Central Railway, State Bank of India, AP Police, Andhra Pradesh Special Police, AGORC, Hyderabad Mayors and SAAP Centre of Excellence.

Mr. Nalla Malla Reddy, secretary of NMRES, will inaugurate.

Inter-college basketball

Osmania University inter-college basketball championship for men will be held at Loyola Academy (Alwal) here from August 25 to 26.

All the teams must report at the venue along with the eligibility forms and identity cards by 10.00 a.m. For details contact 92465 29013.

GHMC kabaddi

Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation will organise its annual open kabaddi championship for men from September 5 to 7 at Victory Playground here.

The event is open to all the departmental teams, clubs, banks, military units and colleges affiliated to the Hyderabad District Kabaddi Association.

Entries close by August 31 and should be sent to B. Jagannath Swamy, Assistant Director of Sports (Central Zone), GHMC, or to M. Iyliah Yadav, Administrator, Victory Playground Indoor Stadium, Hyderabad.

For details contact the Office of Director of Sports, GHMC, Tank Bund Complex.

Regional sports meet

Hyderabad Public School (Begumpet) will organise the 18th Andhra Pradesh Regional Sports Meet for the ICSE and the ISC Schools in the State from August 25 to 26 in basketball and in athletics from August 29 to 30.

About 1200 athletes from 35 schools from across the State are expected to take part in the event which is a prelude to the ICSE & ISC National Sports Meet to be held in October in Ahmedabad and Bangalore.

D. Manikya Varaprasada Rao, Minister for Secondary Education, will inaugurate while A.K. Parida, Principal Secretary (Sports &Youth Services), will be the chief guest for the valedictory function.

Arun Deva hits century

Century by Arun Deva (105) was the highlight for Greenlands in its abandoned match against Bharath Cricket Club in the Schools League (one-day) league cricket championship match here on Monday.

Batting first, Greenlands scored 216 thanks to Arun Deva’s century. However, heavy rain in the afternoon forced abandonment of play in the post-lunch session when Bharath CC was scheduled to bat.

The scores: A-Division (two-day) league: Telangana 193 (Vijay 57) vs New Blues 29 for no loss.

Syndicate Bank 236 for seven (Anirudh Sompalli 53, Asad Ali 51, Abdul Shakeel 45, Narasima four for 74) vs Ours.

MCC 86 for two (Ryan Koundianya 51 batting) vs CCOB.

A-Division (one-day) league: SK Blues 300 for seven (Md. Azharuddin 76, Sk. Musthaq 48, Md. Ashwin Kumar 64, Agha Ali Mohsin 66, John four for 51) bt Secred Hearts 175 (James 63).

A-Institution (one-day) league: Central Bank 176 (D. Hemanth Kumar 85, Heeralal four for 36) bt BHEL 114 (Vineet five for 45, Jyothi Sai four for 14).

APCOB 124 lost to PBCC 126 for one (Parameshwar Reddy 61).

Schools league (one-day): Hyd Cricket Academy 150 (Sandeep Goud 61, Chaitanya three for 17) lost to Vijay 151 for four (Shashidhar Reddy 69 not out).

Greenlands 216 ( R. Arun Deva 105, Imran five for 30) vs Bharath. Rain forces abandonment of play in post-lunch session.

HPS ‘B’ 255 for 4 (Sharath 80, Manikanta 63, H. Anuraag 49) vs WMCC. Rain forces abandonment of play in post-lunch session.

D-Division one-day league: Hyd Wanderers 230 (Naveed 98) bt Lucky XI 126 (Vikram four for 13).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper