Sports Correspondent

Dindigul: A 44th minute strike by Santha Kumar helped Indian Bank beat State Bank 1-0 and enter the final of the TNEB Trophy State-level invitation football tournament at the SDAT District Stadium here on Friday.

Indian Bank will meet Madras Sporting Union Football Club, which beat AGORC (Chennai) 2-1 in the other semifinal. Vimalraj scored both the goals for Sporting Union in the first half, while Balasankar reduced the margin for AGORC in the second session.

Vijay, Chathurved shine

Vijay Sankar’s unbeaten 140 and his 137-run second-wicket partnership with Chathurved (125) helped Kancheepuram beat host Dindigul by 136 runs for its third win in the four-team ‘F’ zone league and qualify for the second stage in the TNCA inter-district under-17 cricket tournament for the P.R. Thevar Trophy on Friday.

Tirunelveli also qualified from this zone as the second team with two wins.

The scores: At Dindigul: Kancheepuram 339 for three in 50 overs (N.S. Chathurved 125, Vijay Sankar 140 not out) bt Dindigul 203 for six in 50 overs (M. Mohamed 76 not out, Haran 36).

Tirunelveli 180 in 46 overs (Paulraj 65, B. Venkatesh five for 31) bt Erode 112 in 26.5 overs (B. Chinnadurai five for 24).

At Karaikudi (Zone B): Puducherry 162 in 47 overs (Vivek three for 26, Vigneshpathy three for 33) lost to Nagapattinam 163 for five in 33.1 overs (Murugavel 64 not out).

Salem 280 for five in 50 overs (Isaacraj 93, Renga Prasad 69 not out) bt Sivagangai 203 in 44.2 overs (Saravanan 61, K. Venkatapathy three for 31). Salem and Nagapattinam qualified for the second stage with three wins and two wins respectively.

GRU enters league

Gandhigram Rural University, D.B. Jain College (Chennai) and Ayya Nadar Janaakiammal College (Sivakasi) qualified for the quarterfinal league of the fifth annual Kamarajar memorial Trophy State-level inter-collegiate volleyball tournament, organised by S. Vellaichamy Nadar College, at Nagamalai on Friday.

The results: Gandhigram Rural University bt SVN College 22-25, 25-9, 25-20; D.B. Jain College bt Sourashtra College 25-15, 21-25, 25-23; A.J. College bt Saraswathy Narayanan College 25-7, 25-8.

NS HSS posts win

At Theni, host Nadar Saraswathi HSS, aided by K. Muthuraj (20), beat Government HSS (Andipatti) 36-10 in the 11th annual S.T. Murugesan memorial Trophy State-level inter-school basketball tournament on Friday.

Other results: Bharathi Vidyalaya HSS (Tuticorin) bt CSI HSS (Nagapattinam) 48-22; GHSS (Batlagundu) bt VMG HSS (Periakulam) 29-17.

Hat-trick by Lalhuzana

Lalhuzana’s hat-trick helped Government College of Engineering (Tirunelveli) defeat Sardar Engineering College 3-0 in the Anna University Zone X inter-engineering college football tournament at Cheranmahadevi on Friday.

Other results: Dr. Sivanthi Adithanar College 4 (Muthukrishnan, Vinoth, Rajeev, Freddy) bt Sun EC 0; CSI EC (Thuvalai) 1 (Anish) bt Jayaraj Annapackiam College (Nazareth) 0; Infant Jesus EC (Kellaivalanadu) 6 (V. Krishnan 4, Verghese, Harrisan) bt SVCET (Puliangudi) 0; PSN EC 1 (A. Sasis) bt St. Xavier EC 0.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper