Motor : Goutham Parekh crowned champion

print   ·   T  T  
REIGNING SUPREME: Goutham Parekh made a clean sweep, winning both races on Sunday.
REIGNING SUPREME: Goutham Parekh made a clean sweep, winning both races on Sunday.

Special Correspondent

CHENNAI: Goutham Parekh emerged unbeaten and was crowned champion in the third edition of the JK Tyre Junior Racing Cup event which concluded on Sunday at the Madras Motor Race Track at Irungattukottai.

The weekend showpiece event did not provide any surprise as the Sathyabhama Engineering College Student made a clean sweep, winning both the races and finishing off in style for Team WSRF with Leela. It was consistency which paid dividends and brought the deserving rewards to Goutham.

Full scholarship

By winning the JK Tyre Junior Cup, Goutham has won a full scholarship worth Rs. 2.5 lakh in the Formula Swift category in the JK Tyre National Racing Championship 2008 scheduled to begin early next year.

For team WSRF with Leela it was a grand finale as the overall second and third spots too were bagged by its racers Prithveen Rajan and Suhail Sabharwal. Prithveen will get four rounds, while Suhail will get two rounds of free drive in the Formula Swift category in next year’s National championship.

The day’s race began with grid position maintained as per the results of the qualifying rounds held on Saturday. Goutham was on pole once again.

Lively start

In excellent form he got off to an exuberant start and built a comfortable lead. Under no threat throughout, Goutham ensured his third win in Round 2 to put himself within striking distance of the title. Finishing in second and third places were Goutham’s teammates Rohit Khanna and Suhail.

Goutham continued his winning spree in Race 5 to wrap up the championship.

Finishing in second and third places after a keen tussle were Chennai lad Vinoth and Rohit from Delhi — both from Team WSRF with Leela.

Like the previous two events, this edition too provided ample opportunities to young racers on Formula Maruti to hone their skills and gain experience which will help them in their transition to bigger events.

The results: Race 4-10 laps: 1. Goutham Parekh 12:24:258, 2. Rohit Khanna 12:28:877, 3. Suhail Sabharwal 12:32:157.

Race 5 -10 laps: 1. Goutham Parekh 12:32:007, 2. Vinoth 12:34:080, 3. Rohit Khanna 12:34:229.

Overall championship points: 1. Goutham Parekh (Team WSRF with Leela — 62.5 points); 2. Prithveen Rajan (Team WSRF with Leela — 47 points); 3. Suhail Sabharwal (Team WSRF with Leela — 46 points).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper



Recent Article in SPORT

Williamson ton puts New Zealand on top

: Kane Williamson’s century gave New Zealand a significant lead over England in the first Test at Lord’s on Saturday.New Zealand w... »