Malik wins tent pegging event

print   ·   T  T  
BULLS EYE: A. Malik of the NDA (above) pipped Shashank Shrishrimal in the tent pegging event for young riders.
BULLS EYE: A. Malik of the NDA (above) pipped Shashank Shrishrimal in the tent pegging event for young riders.

Sports Reporter

CHENNAI: Soon after the individual tent pegging event for young riders in the Panasonic National junior equestrian championship at the Mohite Stadium, Officers Training Academy, here on Monday, the handful who witnessed the competition believed that Shashank Shrishrimal would emerge the winner for he had the maximum number of ‘strikes and carry’ from the two rounds and six ‘runs’ (26 points). To everyone’s surprise, National Defence Academy’s A. Malik turned out to be the champion. The 19-year-old from Pune had less number of points — 24. However, Malik emerged the winner as he didn’t commit any time penalty.

Shashank was deducted 3.5 points for failing to cross the finish line in the allotted time of 7.5 seconds after his ‘strikes and carry’ and was pushed down to second place.

Darshan Singh Dhillon of Punjab finished third, with 20 points.

The results: Tent pegging (18-21 years, young riders, JNEC): 1. A. Malik (NDA) on Top Gun 24 pts, 2. Shashank Shrishmiral (ASC North, Gaya) on Chand 22.5, 3. Darshan Singh Dhillon (Punjab/Mark Fed) on Maurya 20. 4. A. Singh (NDA) on Moonraker 16.

Jumping technical junior (JNEC): 1. Sahej Singh Virk (61st Cavalry) on Arjuna, 2. Sahej Singh Virk (61st Cavalry) on Remarkable, 3. Fouad Mirza (RVC C&C, Meerut) on Victor, 4. Prithvi Singh (ACC & S, Ahmed Nagar) on Nissan.

Dressage children-1 (12-14 years, JNEC): 1. Gaurav Pundir (RTS&D, Saharanpur) on Moonflower, 65.83 per cent, 2. Aditya Virwani (EIRS) on Slash, 65.4 per cent, 3. Aditya Virwani (EIRS) on Romantic Star, 64.58 per cent, 4. Fayiqua Halin (ASC Centre & College, Bangalore) on Eagle, 64.37 per cent.

Dressage children-2 (10-12 years, JNEC): 1. Yash Deep Ahlawat (RVC Centre & College, Meerut) on Moonflower, 70 per cent, 2. Yash Deep Ahlawat (RVC C&C, Meerut) on Glandyl Wolf) 66.36 per cent, 3. Ananthya Sahney (ECE, Bangalore) on Butter Sponge 65.45 per cent, 4. Rahul Nair (ASC Centre & College, Bangalore) on Onyx, 65 per cent.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper



Recent Article in SPORT

Former Test players to be consulted to pick next India coachGag orders on players, coaches to be removed

Fans, game to be BCCI’s priority, says Thakur

‘No witch-hunt against Srinivasan’ »