NEW DELHI: Railways wrestlers grabbed the chunk of gold medals including the freestyle championship by a huge margin in the 52nd National wrestling championship, which concluded in Udaipur recently.

In the freestyle category, six Railways wrestlers including Sushil Kumar (66kg), the lone Olympic quota wrestler so far, won gold medals.

Railways had 65 points, while Punjab finished second with 40 points and Haryana was third with 35.

In the Greco-Roman style, Railways won four gold medals, but missed out on the team championship to Services.

Haryana won the women’s championship with three wrestlers taking gold medals.

The results (winners only): Men: Freestyle: 55kg: Kripa Shankar Patel (Rlys); 60kg: Krishan Kumar (Del); 66kg: Sushil Kumar (Rlys); 74kg: Ramesh Kumar (Rlys); 84kg: Narsingh Yadav (Rlys); 96kg: Anil Mann (Rlys); 120kg: Rajeev Tomar (Rlys).

Greco-Roman: 55kg: Joginder (Rlys); 60kg: Ravinder Singh (Rlys); 66kg: Gurvinder Singh (Pun); 74kg: Rajbir Singh (Rlys); 84kg: Manoj (Ser); 96kg: Anil Kumar (Har); 120kg: Dharmender (Rlys).

Women: 48kg: Nirmala (Har); 51kg: Neha Rathi (Har); 55kg: Kamlesh (Har); 59kg: Alka Tomar (U.P.); 63kg: Jyoti (Del); 72kg: Babita (U.P.) — Principal Correspondent

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper