Mar Athanasius, Alphonsa triumph

print   ·   T  T  
Sini Jose the best woman athlete at the MGU athletics meet.
Sini Jose the best woman athlete at the MGU athletics meet.

Principal Correspondent

KOCHI: Life in the lovely Lakshadweep Islands often runs at a leisurely pace. But one young man, from Androth Island, who crossed the quiet seas and moved to Kochi a few years ago, is relishing life on the fast lane.

The 20-year-old K.M. Mohammed Naseem, who is under coach T.P. Ouseph’s charge, is now one of the hottest 400m runners in the country. On Friday, Naseem, the Inter-State National champion from Kothamangalam’s Mar Athanasius College, shattered his second meet record at the Mahatma Gandhi University inter-collegiate athletic championship at the Maharaja’s Stadium here. And he was not running at full stretch in the 200m.

A little later, Naseem was adjudged as the best male athlete of the three-day meet. Alphonsa College’s international Sini Jose, who wrapped up a 200-400m double, was named the best among women.

Six meet marks fell on the final day, with Alphonsa’s women’s pole-vaulter Sithara T. Illath and St Thomas’ men’s decathlete P.V.Jijo turning in impressive performances.

Kothamangalam’s Mar Athanasius men and Pala’s Alphonsa women retained the team titles. The Mahatma Gandhi University Vice-Chancellor Jancy James gave away the prizes.

The results:

Men: 200m: 1. K.M. Mohammed Naseem (Mar Athanasius, 21.82s), 2. Mohammed Anees (St Domnic’s, 21.97), 3. Santhosh Thevan (MAC, 22.16). 800m: 1. C.J. Jomet (MAC, 1:54.72s), 2. P.V. Anish (MAC, 1:55.85), 3. Sheymon Joseph (SB, Changanassery, 1:55.94). 10,000m: 1. T. Gopi (MAC, 34:34.6s), 2. T. Mohammed Ali (MAC, 34:43.4), 3. Shijo Thankachan (St Thomas, Pala, 35:27). 110m hurdles: 1. Nibu George (MAC, 14.99s), 2. P. Renjis (SB, 16.3), 3. Febin George (MAC, 16.6). 400m hurdles: 1. P.P. Jomon (Baselius, 52.52s, NMR, OR 53.7 K. Jyothi, SD, Kanjirapally, 1999), 2. Nibu George (MAC, 55.99), 3. P. Renjis (SB, 56.36). Pole vault: 1. Bineesh Jacob (St. Thomas, 4.30m), 2. Raneesh (St. Thomas, 4.20), 3. Dhaneesh Stephen (St. Domnic’s, 4.10). Javelin throw: 1. Jerrin Varghese (SB, 57.09m), 2. Jishnu (St Thomas, 55.46), 3. Eldhose Uthupu (MAC, 54.92). Hammer throw: 1. Charles E. Edappattu (MAC, 51.18m), 2. Bipin Jacob (MAC, 39.17), 3. Jerrin Varghese (SB, 33.26). Decathlon: 1. P.V.Jijo (St Thomas, 6,120 pts, NMR, OR 5,798 of P.S. Shajan, St. Thomas, 2004), 2. Raneesh (St. Thomas, 5,972, BMR), 3. Ratheesh Gopi (SB, 4,937). 4x100m relay: 1. Mar Athanasius, Kothamangalam (42.52s), 2. St Thomas, Pala (42.58), 3. St Domnic’s, Kanjirappally (46.08). 4x400m relay: 1. St Thomas, Pala (3:18.86s, NMR, OR 3:18.9 of SD, Kanjirappally, 1999), 2. Mar Athanasius (3:19.09), 3. St Domnic’s (3:23.69).

Women: 200m: 1. Sini Jose (Alphonsa, 25.57s), 2. Tiana Mary Thomas (MAC, 25.83), 3. Jojimol Joseph (Alphonsa, 25.89). 800m: 1. S.R. Bindhu (Alphonsa, 2:13.9s), 2. Jomy Jose (Assumption, 2:19.45), 3. Karthika Mohanan (Alphonsa, 2:23.19). 10,000m: 1. Jijimol Jacob (Alphonsa, 40:2.2s), 2. P.M. Sinimol (Alphonsa, 42:7.2), 3. Soumya Kuryakose (Assumption, 44:32.7). 400m hurdles: 1. Geetha Roby (MAC, 1:2.69s), 2. E.N. Sreelekha, 1:5.78), 3. C.Priya (Assumption, 1:6.52). Triple jump: 1. Ambily Sivan (Alphonsa, 11.98m), 2. Meenu Maria Jose (Alphonsa, 11.68), 3. P.A.Reena (Assumption, 11.30). Pole vault: 1. Sithara T. Illath (Alphonsa, 3.23m, NMR, OR R. Jisha, Alphonsa, 3m, 2006), 2. R. Remya (Alphonsa, 2.60), 3. Uthara K. Satheesh (Govt. Engg. College, Painavu, Idk, 2.20). Javelin throw: 1. Jyothy Bhaskaran (Alphonsa, 30.83m), 2. M.D. Soumyamol (Alphonsa, 30.08), 3. N.V. Shreeja (Assumption, 28.38). Hammer throw: 1. Anitha Abraham (MAC, 48.98m, NMR, OR own, 46.68, 2006), 2. S. Nimisha (Assumption, 34.92), 3. P.C. Karthika (Alphonsa, 34.75). Heptathlon: 1. P.J. Asha (BCM, Ktm, 4,184pts), 2. Liksy Joseph (Assumption, 4,152), 3. Niksy Joseph (Assumption, 4,123). 4x100m relay: 1. Alphonsa, Pala (48.42s), 2. Assumption, Changanassery (48.77), 3. Mar Athanasius, Kothamangalam (54.75). 4x400m relay: 1. Alphonsa (3:53.05s), 2. Mar Athanasius (3:54.42), 3. Assumption (4:9.34).

Team championships: Men: 1. Mar Athanasius (101 pts), 2. St Thomas (67.5), 3. St. Berchmans (25). Women: 1. Alphonsa (110), 2. Assumption (56), 3. Mar Athanasius (39). Best athletes: K.M. Mohammed Naseem (Mar Athanasius, men), Sini Jose (Alphonsa, women).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper



Recent Article in SPORT

Pakistan wins series

Pakistan pulled off a sensational last-over win by two wickets in the second T 20 International against Zimbabwe in Lahore on Sunday to t... »