HYDERABAD: University XI scored a comfortable 5-1 win over Morshed XI in the Susai memorial football tournament at the Trimulgherry Village Ground here on Monday.

Wingers Zama and Prasanjit Banerjee struck a brace each while Mir Ali scored for the winners. For the losers, the consolation goal came through Omar.

NPA College wins

NPA Junior College recorded a 48-22 win over Vignan College in the CCOB inter-college basketball tournament at the City College here. Earlier, Shujath Ahmed, general secretary of CCOBA, inaugurated.

The scores: NPA Jr College 48 (M.K. Reddy 16, Praveen 10) bt Vignan 22 (Santosh 12); VV College 36 (Shankar 12) bt Aurora College 15.

Easy win for Rangers

Hyderabad Rangers scored an emphatic 7-1 win over Red Hills Playground in the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation football tournament here. For the winners, the scores were Zakki (4), Razak (2) and Hyder (1). For the losers, Ahmed reduced the margin.

Other results (with scorers names in brackets): Noorkhan Bazaar 3 (Faisal, Sonu, Abbas) bt OK Sporting 1 (Feroz).

Golconda FC 3 (Junaid 2, Basharat 1) bt Farhatnagar 2 (Sravan, Farhat).

Athletics meet put off

The third A.P. State athletic meet for deaf scheduled to be held at the RRC Grounds from December 24 has been postponed to December 28. For details, call 9985760442 or 9908898475.

Harika hailed

Andhra Pradesh Chess Association congratulated Dronavalli Harika on winning her second Commonwealth Chess championship title in Delhi on Sunday. In a statement here on Monday, APCA also lauded the achievements of G. Rohit (boys’ under-18), Mehar Chinna Reddy (under-14), G.V. Sai Krishna (under-12) and Tejaswini Reddy (girls under-16) who won silver medals in their respective categories.

For Andhra, Moineesh (under-10 boys), Sai Nirupama (under-12 girls) and Ch. Divyasri (under-16) also bagged a bronze each.

A.P. wrestling teams

The Andhra Pradesh Wrestling Association named the team to take part in the 52nd Senior national championship to be held in Udaipur from December 15.

The team: Men: Abdul Samad, Devender, P. Mahesh Goud, Shekar, N.B. Abdullah, Manoj Kumar and Matin Bin Jaweed.

Women: Santoshi, N. Swarna, G. Indira, D. Durgamma and Sri Vidya. Coaches: S.A. Razak Hussain and K. Narsing Rao. Managers: Aslam and A.S. Bai.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper