Madurai: Mumbai won the title, though it lost to Acharya Nagarjuna 14-21 in the last match in the South West zone inter-university women’s kabaddi tournament here on Sunday night.

Mumbai and Shivaji, third last year, tied for the title with two wins and a loss each but Mumbai was declared winner on better points (+8) difference while Shivaji (+2) was placed second. Likewise, for the third place also, there was a tie between Acharya Nagarjuna and Pune . Acharya Nagarjuna was placed third (-2) and Pune four (-5). However all these four teams have qualified for the all-India inter-university tournament .

The results: Summit league: Acharya Nagarjuna bt Mumbai 21-14; Shivaji bt Pune 24-21; Mumbai bt Pune 27-16; Shivaji bt Acharya Nagarjuna 21-13; Mumbai bt Shivaji 22-16; Pune bt Acharya Nagarjuna 25-24. Quarterfinals: Acharya Nagarjuna bt Andhra 23-21; Mumbai bt Mangalore 38-19; Shivaji bt Madras 25-11; Pune bt Madurai Kamaraj 40-14.

Rafiq scalps five

Riding on Rafiq’s five for 12, Oxford Cricket Club beat Apollo Cricket Club by 61 runs in the Raja Durai Ambalam Davamani Ammal memorial Trophy District-level Twenty-20 cricket tournament on Monday. Santhosh Gopi’s 124 helped Lechatelier Cricket Club defeat Phoemix Cricket Club by 161 runs in another match on Sunday.

The scores: Oxford CC 131 for eight in 20 overs bt Apollo CC 70 in 14 overs (Rafiq five for 12); Lechatelier CC 239 for one in 20 overs (Santhosh Gopi 124, Sethuraman 70) bt Phoemix CC 78 in 14.5 overs (Murugan four for 11).

SZ Police holds Friends

South Zone Police and Friends Football Club, Thirumangalam, played out a 1-1 draw in the last match of the Madurai District Football Association ‘A’ division league at Madurai on Saturday.

Karthik scored first for Friends Club while Senthilraja scored the equaliser .

Final standings: 1. Sethu FC (27 pts); 2. Acme Sports Club and South Zone Police (20); 3. Friends FC (17); 4. Vikram Engg. College (16); 5. Don Bosco FC (13); 6. Nehru FC (7); 7. TVS Soccer Club (6); 8. Usilai FC, Usilampatti (4); 9. P.G. Govindarajan Memorial FC (0).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper