Rakesh Rao

Ramesh only GM with perfect score

Kiran Manisha Mohanty drew with Thipsay

NEW DELHI: Indecisive battles on eight of the top 10 boards, that featured six Grandmasters, reflected the safety-first approach of the contenders headed by Surya Shekhar Ganguly in the third round of the Parsvnath Commonwealth chess championship here on Tuesday.

Only 10 of the 27 overnight leaders maintained their all-win record at the Siri Fort Complex. The fact that R. B. Ramesh remains the only Grandmaster with a perfect score reflects the stiff resistance faced by the other leading names so early in the competition.

Keeping Ramesh’s company upfront are Aswin Jayaram, K. Ratnakaran, S. Arun Prasad, Prasenjit Datta, Himanshu Sharma, Pakistan’s Mahmood Lodhi, Ram Prakash, V. Saravanan and Roktim Bandyopadhyay.

Abhijeet Gupta could have well joined the leaders had he not messed up a superior position against Woman Grandmaster Aarthie Ramaswamy.

Drawn encounters

For the second straight day, GMs Abhijit Kunte, Neelotpal Das, Dibyendu Barua and Pravin Thipsay were engaged in drawn encounters.

Amravati-boy Swapnil Dhopade, who drew with Barua in the second round, proved equal to Neelotpal Das. Similarly, Kiran Manisha Mohanty drew with Thipsay, after having held Deepan Chakkravathy in the previous round.

Chennai’s seasoned campaigner IM Ramanathan Balasubramanium could have been the only one to beat a Grandmaster on this day. Kunte played a horrendous queen-move on the 15th turn and realized that he was in danger of losing a queen or a rook or a bishop over the next few moves. Three moves later, Kunte hesitatingly offered a draw and was pleasantly surprised when Balasubramanium accepted it.

The results (Indians unless stated): Third round: Akshat Khamparia (2.5) drew with Surya Shekhar Ganguly (2.5); Parimarjan Negi (2.5) drew with Chandrashekhar Gokhale (2.5); M. S. Thej Kumar (2.5) drew with Abdulla Al-Rakib (Ban) (2.5); Reefan Bin Sattar (Ban) (2.5) drew with Eesha Karavade (2.5); M. R. Lalith Babu (2.5) drew with D. Harika (2.5); Aswin Jayaram (3) bt Rahul Sangma (2); N. Sudhakar Babu (2) lost to R. B. Ramesh (3); Aarthie Ramaswamy (2.5) drew with Abhijeet Gupta (2.5); Swati Ghate (2.5) drew with Tejas Bakre (2.5); S. Kidambi (2.5) drew with Preetham Sharma (2.5); Vidit Gujarati (2) lost to K. Ratnakaran (3).

Sai Srinivas (2) lost to S. Arun Prasad (3); K. Priyadarshan (2.5) drew with Tania Sachdev (2.5); Prasenjit Dutta (3) bt Saptarshi Roy (2); Gurpreet Pal Singh (2) lost to Himanshu Sharma (3); Mahmood Lodhi (Pak) (3) bt J. Ramakrishna (2); P. Konguvel (2) lost to Ram Prakash (3); Lanka Ravi (2.5) drew with Padmini Rout (2.5); Debashis Roy (2.5) drew with Vikramaditya Kamble (2.5); V. Saravanan (3) bt V. A. V. Rajesh (2); Hemant Sharma (2.5) drew with R. Ashwath (2.5); Roktim Bandyopadhyay (3) bt Amruta Mokal (2).

Vaibhav Suri (2.5) drew with Mas Hafizulhelmi (Mal) (2.5); Gawain Jones (Eng) (2.5) bt Bhuvanesh Ramnath (2); R. Balasubramanium (2) drew with Abhijit Kunte (2); Deepan Chakkravarthy (2.5) bt Shyam Nikhil (1.5); Vinay Kumar Matta (2) drew with Dibyendu Barua (2); G. Rohit (2.5) bt Praveen Kumar (1.5); Swapnil Dhopade (2) drew with Neelotpal Das (2); Pravin Thipsay (2) drew with Kiran Manisha Mohanty (2).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper