Tirunelveli: Southern Railway, Chennai, beat Tirupur Kumaran Volleyball Club, Salem, 25-16, 25-18 in Group ‘I’ league in the 59th senior State-volleyball championship that got underway at VOC Stadium, Palayamkottai on Monday.

Forty eight teams are participating in the men’s section and have been placed in 10 groups for the league phase, while 23 teams in the women’s section have been divided into four groups for the league phase.

Other results: Men: Group ‘C’: TNEB bt DYFI, Madurai 25-13, 25-19; Sivanthi Athinar, Vellore bt Nehru Youth 25-5, 25-8. Group ‘D’: South Zone Police, Madurai bt SAI, Mayiladuthurai 25-22, 25-19; Sathyabama University, Chennai bt TVC, Chidambaram 25-18, 25-21. Group ‘E’: Tuticorin Port Trust bt VGS Junior 16-25, 25-21, 26-24. Group ‘F’: Armed Police bt VGS, Perambur 25-2, 25-6; YUC, Kanchi bt MVBC 25-23, 18-25, 25-20. Group ‘G’: Panimalar, Chennai bt Swami Shivander, Coimbatore 25-12, 25-18. Group ‘H’: VGS, Kanchi bt Chennai City Police 25-24, 13-25, 25-17; NGM College, Coimbatore bt National VBC, Chennai 25-6, 25-7. Group ‘J’: BSNL, Chennai bt SAI, Salem 25-9, 25-19; Sri Krishna College, Coimbatore bt Saraswathi Pandian, Madurai 25-21, 22-25, 25-18.

Women: Group ‘B’: GKM Youngster bt SDAT junior 19-25, 25-16, 25-12. Group ‘C’: Armed Police bt SAI 25-2, 25-2; Panimalar, Chennai bt Saraswathi, Madurai 25-11, 25-20. Group ‘D’: St. Joseph bt Chola 25-1, 25-6; GKM bt VGS, Kanchi 25-3, 25-6.

Match drawn

Nehru Football Club drew with Usilai Football Club, Usilampatti 1-1 in the MDFA ‘A’ division league for Hi-Tech Arai Trophy at Madurai on Monday.

The results: Nehru FC 1 (Arun) drew with Usilai FC 1 (Subhas); Don Bosco FC 8 (Vignesh 4, Raja 2, Zimbu, Rajendra Kumar) bt PG Govindarajan memorial Club 0; Acme SC 4 (Saravanarajan 2, Saravanan, Rajan) bt TVS Soccer Club (Ismail); Nehru FC 6 (Gerald 2, Nissar, Basi, Arun) bt PGG Memorial Club 1 (Perumal).

Satheesh scalps five

Satheesh’s five for seven-helped Melbourne Cricket Club defeat M.E.T. Cricket Club by 143 runs in the Canara Bank-Tirunelveli DCA first division league at Sankar Nagar on Sunday.

The scores: First division: Melbourne CC 208 in 32.5 overs (Stephen 64, Manoj 43, Yousif four for 23, Issack three for 39) bt MET CC 65 for nine in 13.5 overs (Satheesh five for seven).

Second division: Apex CC 116 in 19 overs (Mani 53, Rosari four for 30, Satheesh three for 16) lost to Wings CC 117 for seven in 16.2 overs (Alagesan 55); Apex CC 211 for eight in 20 overs (Selvam 49, Prince 63) bt Prince CC 63 in 15.2 overs (Selvam three for five).

Mohan bats well

A solid knock of 89 by Mohan helped Jahir Cricket Club, Vedasandur defeat Nike CC, Oddanchatram by 72 runs in the Canara Bank-DDCA First division league at Dindigul on Sunday.

The scores: First division: Jahir CC 195 in 42.5 overs (Mohan 89, Ravi three for 28) bt Nike CC 123 in 25.2 overs (Maruthakottai three for 26).

Second division: Kodai CC 107 for five in 23 overs lost to Eriodu CC 108 for four in 15.5 overs (Senthilkumar 51); Eleven Stars CC 108 in 20 overs lost to All Rounders CC 112 for eight in 15.4 overs (Palanichamy three for 15).

Ranjan scalps six

P. Ranjan scalped six as Blue Moon CC defeated Metro CC by 47 runs in a Canara Bank-Cuddalore DCA first division league cricket match in Neyveli.

The scores: At Neyveli: Blue Moon CC 206 in 39.3 overs (K. Radhakrishnan four for 50) bt Metro CC 159 in 21 overs (V. Ranjith 47, P. Ranjan six for 32).

Stranger CC 132 in 30.2 overs (K. Santhanakumar four for 23) lost to Sudhakar CC 133 in 20.2 overs (R. Kumarathevan 74).

At Cuddalore: Nellikuppam CC 225 in 39.2 overs (Suresh 41, Velmurugan four for 29) bt Nallathur CC 117 in 23.3 overs.

Victory CC 211 in 39.5 overs (Kavi 72, Pachaiyappan 51) bt Annakuppam CC 150 in 33.5 overs (Balu 40).

Easy for UDC

S. Shanmugasundaram scored 87 as Urumu Dhanalakshmi College defeated NIT by 99 runs in a Canara Bank-Tiruchi DCA first division league cricket match at Tiruchi.

The scores: First division: Urumu Dhanalakshmi College 212 for seven in 40 overs (S. Shanmugasundaram 87, M. Sathish Kumar 46) bt NIT 113 in 32.4 overs.

Second division: Pudukottai RC 161 in 31.1 overs (M. Mohan six for 30) lost to Ponnagar CC 164 for three in 35.2 overs (S.P. Sivakumar 73 not out).

Ponnagar CC 238 for nine in 45 overs (S.P. Sivakumar 97) bt Southern Railway Institute 116 in 27 overs.

Third division: Tiruchi United CC 182 for eight in 40 overs (S. Prakash 66) bt OFT Sports Association 102 in 29 overs.

Tiruchi Medical Rep CC 69 in 19 overs (V. Panneerselvam six for 19) lost to Warriors Avenue 75 for two in 7.3 overs (K. Sridhar 44 not out).

Fourth division: Seven Stars CC 77 in 23.3 overs (G.K. Rajasekar four for 1) lost to Krish CC 78 for four in 18.3 overs.

Breeze CC 41 for seven in 11.4 overs (D. Arul Prakash four for 14) lost to Premier CC 42 for three in 9.3 overs.

Manachanallur Junior CC 137 for six in 30 overs bt Desert Rose CC 117 in 28.1 overs.

Fifth division: Rainbow CC 145 for eight in 30 overs (P. Ramesh 50, R. Nandakumar four for 15) bt Promising XI CC 118 in 26 overs.

SBIOA MS in semifinals

Host SBIOA Matriculation School, with an all-win record at the end of the league stage, entered the semifinals in the boys’ section of the district-level inter-school handball tournament in Tiruchi on Tuesday.

The results: Boys (league): SBIOA bt Santa Maria 10-0; Santa Maria bt St. Vincent 4-0; SBIOA bt St. Mary’s 8-2; Santa Maria bt St. Mary’s 5-0; SBIOA bt St. Vincent 10-0; St. Vincent bt St. Mary’s 6-1; Arockiamatha bt Rajaji Vidhyalaya 8-3; Crea bt Annai 3-2; Rajaji bt Crea 9-2; Rajaji bt Annai 8-0; Arockimatha bt Crea 7-0; Arockiamatha bt Annai 6-0.

Girls: (quarterfinals): Annai bt Srirangam Girls 5-4; Rajaji Vidhyalaya bt SBIOA 5-2; Arockiya Matha bt Crea 9-1; Amala Girls bt Santa Maria 9-1.

Cricket tournament

The Tiruchi District Cricket Association will conduct cricket tournament for women from December 15. Entries close on December 1. For details, call, P. Ilangovan, ph: 94437 66869.

Bridge tournament

The R.S. Puram Club open bridge tournament will be held at the R.S. Puram Club, Coimbatore on December 1 and 2.

Players from Coimbatore, Chennai, Madurai, Tiruchi, Karaikudi, Mettur, Ernakulam, Gobichettipalayam and Salem are expected to participate.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper