Sports Reporter

ANANTAPUR: Andhra opener L.N. Prasad Reddy’s century (103 runs, 16x4), which he achieved off the day’s last ball was the highlight of the final day’s play against Uttar Pradesh in a Ranji Trophy Super League match which ended in a draw at the Anantapur Sports Village here on Sunday.

Chasing 270 for an outright win in 48 overs, Andhra, despite losing Hemal Watekar in the first over, fought gallantly and finished at 213 for four.

Making merry

Leading from the front once again was first innings centurion Prasad Reddy, who made mincemeat of the U.P. attack along with A.S.K. Varma (89, 14x4). The duo added 194-run for the second wicket.

Earlier, resuming at 105 for two, Mohammad Kaif (122, 11x4, 3x6) and Tanmay Srivastava (59) upped the ante and literally kept the Andhra fielders on their toes with their well-crafted shots. They converted ones into twos and treated the loose deliveries with disdain. Kaif was the more belligerent of the two, smacking three huge sixes of Faiq, G.S. Rao and Vijay Kumar. Tanmay was the first to go, failing to offie G.S. Rao.

Kaif declared at 297 for six, fifteen minutes after lunch.

Kaif’s efforts to run through the Andhra innings backfired and most importantly Piyush Chawla proved ineffective. Sudeep Tyagi claimed thee for 68 and finished the mach with a nine-wicket haul. Andhra garnered three points for securing the first innings lead, while U.P. took one point.

The scores:

U.P. — 1st innings: 298.

Andhra — 1st innings: 326.

U.P. — 2nd innings: S. Shukla c Watekar b G.S. Rao 18, R. Prakash c M.S.K. Prasad b Krishna 42, Tanmay c Watekar b G.S. Rao 59, M. Kaif (not out) 122, S. Raina c Suresh b G.S. Rao 28, R. Shukla c Arjun b Kumar 5, P. Chawla c & b G.S. Rao 6; Extras (b-3, lb- 10, w-4) 17; Total: (for six wkts. decl. in 74.4 overs) 297.

Fall of wickets: 1-59, 2-78, 3-217, 4-257, 5-274, 6-297.

Andhra bowling: Krishna 9-3-33-1, Kumar 17-2-68-1, Faiq 14-0-60-0, I. Raju 5-0-31-0, G.S. Rao 21.4-4-72-4, M. Suresh 6-2-13-0, Gyaneswara Rao 2-0-7-0.

Andhra — 2nd innings: H. Watekar c Kaif b Tyagi 5, L.N. Prasad Reddy (not out) 103, A.S.K. Varma c Kaif b Abid 89, M.S.K. Prasad c Amir b Tyagi 0, G.S. Shankar Rao c Amir b Tyagi 0, Gyaneswara Rao (not out) 1; Extras (b-5, Ib-6, w-1, nb-3); 15 Total: (for four wkts. in 48 overs ) 213.

Fall of wickets: 1-10, 2-204, 3-208, 4-208.

U.P. bowling: S. Tyagi 16-4-68-3, Abid 14-2-46-1, Chawla 11-0-56-0, R. Shukla 4-1-10-0, R. Mishra 3-0-22-0.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper