Karnataka pulls off an innings victory

print   ·   T  T  
CASTLED: Himachal Pradesh’s Sangram Singh bowled by Karnataka’s Vinay Kumar in the second innings.
CASTLED: Himachal Pradesh’s Sangram Singh bowled by Karnataka’s Vinay Kumar in the second innings.

Special Correspondent

16 Himachal Pradesh wickets fall on the third day for 209 runs

BANGALORE: Karnataka won by an innings and 126 runs to bag six points (including a bonus) in its Ranji Trophy Super League Group A match against promoted Himachal Pradesh.

The third and penultimate day’s play at the Chinnaswamy Stadium saw the fall of 16 HP wickets for the addition of 209 runs.

It was a wearing two-paced wicket. While Joshi from the far end managed to get a few balls to jump and spin, some just squatted doing the batsmen in for pace and bounce. And umpire H.S. Sekhon propped his finger to give Manninder Bisla the marching orders when the ball clearly seemed to have come off pads, to be consumed at forward short-leg.

Good show

Only Bisla showed some gumption and tenacity to stay and compile his runs. The rest of the HP batsmen were circumspect and dug their own doom, though two — Sangram Singh and Paras Dogra — were done in by the lack of bounce.


Karnataka skipper Anil Kumble surprisingly came on quite late and clearly lacked the rhythm and sharpness while Joshi and Vinay Kumar were steady, without being exemplary. But it was the home team’s fielding that stood out. Both Kumble and Vinay had three victims each in both the innings.

If Kumble pulled off a stunning catch at gully to trigger the collapse in the morning off the day’s third over bowled by Vinay, Barrington Rowland from deep midwicket sent in a sharp return to `keeper Thilak Naidu to catch Vishal Bhatia out of crease.

In the second innings, Vinay sprinted in about 15 yards and dived forward to pick up a mistimed hook by Manish Gupta off N.C. Aiyappa, virtually breaking whatever resistance HP presumably had. Karnataka after this win has seven points, while HP remains on one.

The scores:

Karnataka — 1st innings: 452.

HP — 1st innings: Manish Gupta c Naidu b Joshi 42, Sandeep Sharma c Dravid b Aiyappa 21, Sangram Singh c Dravid b Kumble 7, Paras Dogra lbw Vinay Kumar 3, Ajay Manu c Kumble b Vinay Kumar 18, Manninder Bisla (not out) 43, Mukesh Sharma lbw Vinay Kumar 0, Vishal Bhatia (run out) 3, Sarandeep Singh c Dravid b Kumble 14, Ashok Thakur c Vinay Kumar b Kumble 0, Vikramjit Malik c Vinay Kumar b Joshi 5; Extras: (b-8, lb-10, penalty-5) 23. Total (in 68.5 overs) 179.

Fall of wickets: 1-47, 2-76, 3-79, 4-90, 5-120, 6-124, 7-135, 8-174, 9-174.

Karnataka bowling: Vinay 15-6-26-3, Aiyappa 13-0-41-1, Kumble 16-3-55-3, Joshi 14.5-6-18-2, Akhil 10-2-16-0.

HP — 2nd innings: Manish Gupta c Vinay Kumar b Aiyappa 28, Sandeep Sharma c Naidu b Vinay Kumar 0, Sangram Singh b Vinay Kumar 5, Paras Dogra lbw Akhil 10, Ajay Manu c Naidu b Vinay Kumar 9, Manninder Bisla c Pawan b Kumble 32, Mukesh Sharma lbw Joshi 32, Vishal Bhatia lbw Kumble 5, Sarandeep Singh (not out) 9, Ashok Thakur c Akhil b Kumble 0, Vikramjit Malik c & b Joshi 4. Extras: (b-13) 13. Total (in 50.4 overs) 147.

Fall of wickets: 1-1, 2-33, 3-43, 4-50, 5-64, 6-125, 7-129, 8-136, 9-138.

Karnataka bowling: Vinay 10-2-32-3, Aiyappa 9-3-29-1, Akhil 6-3-10-1, Kumble 13-1-41-3, Joshi 12.4-2-22-2.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper



Recent Article in SPORT

Devendro in final

Commonwealth Games silver-medallist L. Devendro Singh (49kg) advanced to the final, while six others entered the semifinals as Indian box... »