Sports Reporter

Ravikant Shukla bails out U.P. with a good knock

U.P.’s top order perish to some indiscreet shots

Vijaya Kumar scalps four

ANANTAPUR: Andhra bowlers dominated proceedings restricting Uttar Pradesh to 269 for eight on day one of their Super League Ranji match at the Anantapur Sports Village here on Thursday. Middle order batsman Ravikant Shukla (77 batting, 10x4, 1x6) kept the U.P. innings together.

Put into bat, U.P.’s top order perished to some indiscreet shots and the team was reduced to 126 for five with Vijaya Kumar (four for 64) effecting maximum damage. Opener Rohit Prakash, who was dropped by A.S.K. Varma at gully off Kalyan Krishna, failed to capitalise on chance. Shivkant fell to a surprise delivery from Vijay Kumar which lifted awkwardly.

Kaif’s vigil

At 47 for two, the onus to stabilise the innings was on skipper Kaif and Tanmay Srivastava. Kaif enthralled the motley crowd with a couple of well-timed boundaries but his 102-minute vigil came to an end when he slashed an outgoing delivery from Vijaya Kumar.

Tanmay, who exhibited fine temperament, kept the scoreboard ticking but lost his wicket going for an unproductive heave. Suresh Raina too could not stay for long as failed to tackle a well-directed short-pitch delivery from Vijaya Kumar.

Ravikanth found an able partner in Amir Khan. Together they posted 70 for the sixth wicket. Piyush Chawla, exhibited his brilliance with a classic straight drive off Kalyan Krishna, but soon fell for a miscued hook shot. Keen on wrapping up the innings, Andhra skipper M.S.K. Prasad used as many as eight bowlers but Ravikanth succeeded in thwarting all attempts.

The scores: Uttar Pradesh — 1st innings: R. Prakash c M.S.K. Prasad b Kalyan Krishna 7, S. Shukla c Gyaneswara b Vijay 27, T. Srivastava c A.S.K. Varma b I. Raju 30, M. Kaif c Gyaneswara b Vijay 34, S. Raina c Watekar b Vijay 13, R. Shukla (batting) 77, A. Khan c Watekar b I. Raju 22, P. Chawla c Vijay b Kalyan Krishna 23, R. Mishra c M.S.K. Prasad b Vijay 7, M. Abid Khan (batting) 5; Extras: (lb-6, w-8, nb-10) 24; Total: (for eight wickets, in 90 overs) 269.

Fall of wickets: 1-26, 2-47, 3-108, 4-126, 5-126, 6-196, 7-234, 8-248.

Andhra bowling: Kalyan Krishna 22-4-63-2, Vijay 26-6-64-4, I. Raju 19-3-70-2, Gyaneswara 7-1-29-0, G. Shankar Rao 8-3-10-0, Watekar 3-1-10-0, Faiq 3-0-10-0, Suresh 2-0-7-0.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper