THALASSERY: The 52nd State senior basketball championship opens at the Municipal Stadium here on Tuesday. The event is returning to this historical town after of eight years.

Fourteen men’s and 10 women’s teams will compete in the league-cum-knock-out tourney, which is the first in the State to be officiated by three umpires.

Thiruvananthapuram men and Kottayam women are the reigning champions.

In the opening match, host Kannur takes on Malappuram, in the women’s section. The tournament concludes on November 18.

The groupings:

Men: Pool ‘A’: Thiruvananthapuram, Thrissur, Ernkulam and Wayanad. Pool ‘B’: Idukki, Pathanamthitta, Kozhikode and Kannur. Pool ‘C’: Palakkad, Kottayam and Malappuram. Pool ‘D’: Kasaragod, Alappuzha and Kollam.

Women: Pool ‘A’: Kottayam, Kozhikode and Thiruvananthapuram. Pool ‘B’: Kollam, Kannur and Malappuram. Pool ‘C’: Ernakulam, Thrissur, Alappuzha and Pathanamthitta.

Easy win for St. Joseph’s HSS

Host St. Joseph’s HSS scored a 39-19 win over Sarvodaya Vidyalaya in the opening match of the Fr. Ephrem Trophy all-Kerala inter-school basketball tournament here on Monday.

In another match, St. Thomas HSS defeated St. John’s HSS 26-21.

The results: Boys: St. Joseph’s HSS 39 bt Sarvodaya Vidyalaya 19 (Kiranjith 12); St. Thomas HSS 26 (Ben John 14) bt St. John’s HSS 21.

SN College triumphs

SN College, Kannur beat Payyannur College, Payyannur 3-0 to win the Kannur University inter-collegiate football tournament at Kannur on Sunday.

Sujith, Ranjith and Rajesh were the scorers.

Cricket tournament

The 11th K.K. Sreenivasan memorial all-Kerala prize money cricket tournament will be held at the GBHSS ground, Haripad, from December 22 to 31.

Sixteen teams including Kids CC, Masters CC, host Haripad Youngsters CC, Eranakulam CC and Tripunithura CC will take part.

A pro-6 (six-a-side) tournament involving eight teams will be played for the first time on December 22.

Selection trials

Trials to select the Kerala State cycle polo under-19 teams to take part in the National School Games will be held on November 15 at the Poojapura Mandapam ground on November 15.

Also the trials to select the judo teams will be held at the Government HS ground, Thazhva (Kollam district) on November 20 and 21.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper