THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: Ernakulam won the State under-19 inter-district football title after beating Kozhikode 4-3 via the tie-breaker in the final at the Central Stadium on Friday.

The teams were level 1-1 at the end of regular time. After a goalless first half, the contest gained intensity in the second half as both teams dished out an attacking game. However, it was Kozhikode which went ahead in the 56th minute through N.K. Mohammed Aslam. But Ernakulam found the equaliser in the 61st minute through Judil Varghese who scored in a goalmouth melee. Both teams had enough chances to settle the issue in regular time. In the tie-breaker, Judil Varghese, Aldrin D’Couth, and Mathew M. Paulose scored for Ernakulam while P. Rahul and T.K. Saneesh were successful scorers for Kozhikode.

Malappuram defeated Palakkad by a solitary goal to finish third in the tournament. Sonu Devadas was chosen as the best player of the tournament. Kerala Sports Council president T.P. Dasan gave away the prizes to the winners.

CRS regains title

Host Cochin Refineries School crushed Bhavan’s Vidya Mandir, Elamakkara, by nine wickets to claim the Refinian Cup inter-school cricket title after a two-year break at the BPCL Kochi Refinery Ground, Ambalamugal, on Friday.

Off-spinner Kailas Nair (4-18) and captain Samarth (39 n.o.) played a big role in the victory.

M.N. Neelakantan, MD, Petronet, gave away the prizes.

The scores:

Bhavan’s Vidya Mandir, Elamakkara 84 in 25 overs (Kailas Nair four for 18) lost to Cochin Refineries School ‘A’, Ambalamugal 87 for one in 9 overs (Samarth 39 n.o.).

Special prizes: D.Arun (Cochin Refineries School, best batsman), Shiaz (BVM, Elamakkara, best bowler), Samarth (Cochin Refineries, man of the final), Kailas Nair (Cochin Refineries, player of the tournament).

BVM is champion

Bhavan’s Vidya Mandir (Elamakkara) defeated Government Girls HSS (Ernakulam) 24-6 and won the girls’ title in the 17th P.L. Lawrence memorial inter-school basketball tournament in Kochi on Friday. Mariam Ann Thampy (10) and N. Remola (8) were the champion’s leading scorers.

The boys’ final, between Sacred Heart HSS (Thevara) and Bhavan’s Vidya Mandir (Elamakkara), was a close affair. But heavy rain halted play early in the second quarter with Sacred Heart leading 17-16. The two were declared joint winners.

Sunil Jacob, Assistant Commissioner of Police, Mattancherry, gave away the prizes.

The results:

Girls final: Bhavan’s (Elamakkara) 24 (Mariam Ann Thampy 10) bt Govt Girls HSS (Ernakulam) 24-6.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper