Special Correspondent

VISAKHAPATNAM: B. Sumanth (83 batting, 8x4) and J.T. Yadav (71, 11x4, 1x6) helped Andhra take the lead over Kerala with their 117-run stand for the sixth wicket in a round-robin match of the South Zone under-22 (C.K. Nayudu Trophy) tournament at the ACA-VDCA stadium here on Saturday.

Andhra was 250 for seven at close on the second day in reply to Kerala’s first innings total of 102.

Tamil Nadu was struggling at 135 for five in reply to Hydeabad’s 297 at the Railway stadium.

But the spotlight was on its off-spinner R. Ashwin who finished with a seven-wicket haul after grabbing three wickets on the first day. Amol Shinde (68, 4x4,1x6) and Ahmed Shakeer (38, 7x4) helped Hyderabad to a good total.

Goa was fighting hard at the ACA-VDCA stadium to gain the first innings lead over Karnataka through its eighth-wicket pair of Ankinth Desai (72) and Ryan D’Souza (34) who have added 57 runs so far. Goa was on 197 for seven in reply to Karnataka’s 222.

The scores:

Kerala 102 vs Andhra 250 for seven in 102 overs (B. Sumanth 82 battting, J.T. Yadav 71, V.S. Shiju four for 53).

Karnataka 222 vs Goa 197 for seven in 104 overs (Ankinth Desai 72 batting).

Hyderabad 297 in 93.4 overs (Derick Prince 76, Amol Shinde 68, R. Ashwin seven for 43) vs Tamil Nadu 135 for five in 43 overs (Abhinav Mukund 57).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper