CHENNAI: Saran Vikram will start from pole in both sixth-round races of the premium Formula Rolon category in the JK Tyre National Racing championship at the Madras Motor Sports Track at Irungattukottai, near here on Saturday.

With the championship tantalisingly poised, Saran Vikram, currently in third place, achieved lap times of 01:47:973 and 01:48:342 for pole in both races of the final round, scheduled for Sunday.

Vikram’s Speed NK Racing team-mate Aditya Patel, who leads the championship, will start both races from second.

Team Gemini Racing’s Rayomand Banajee, who is chasing Aditya Patel, will start from the third place in Race 1.

Meanwhile Team Prime Racing’s Sarosh Hataria will start third in Race 2.

Ashwin excels

In the Formula Hyundai category, Ashwin Sundar, who is assured of the championship, captured pole for both Race 1 and Race 2.

In Formula Swift category, Sudarshan Rao took pole in Race 1. Ashwin Sunder will start on pole for Race 2.

The main races will commence on Sunday at 10 am. Entry is free. — Special Correspondent

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper