Arvind Aaron

Chennai: Niranjan C. Navalgund of M.V. Herwadkar English Medium School, Belgaum, sacrificed a pawn and shocked the top seed International Master S.P. Sethuraman of Tamil Nadu to be among the 29 leaders with full two points at the end of the second round in the Canara Bank National sub-junior chess championships being played at the Nehru Stadium here on Wednesday.

There was another upset on the third board as Antonio d’Cunha of Mangalore shocked National ‘A’ qualifier M.R. Lalith Babu (AP) with black pieces by forking two rooks with his knight.

Karnataka has made its presence felt in boys so far. These two players and World Under-10 champion Girish Koushik of Mysore are among the leaders with two points.

Aditya Udeshi wins

Watching higher-rated players crash to defeats around him, International Master norm holder Aditya Udeshi of Mumbai stayed focussed enough to beat Kaushlendra Kumar of Bihar on the second board after blocking a pawn storm of white to counterattack on the queen side.

World Youth Olympiad winning team member S. Nitin of Salem was impressive in his win over Sayantan Das of Bengal, which was set up by a brilliant bishop sacrifice.

Orissa’s Swayams Mishra was at the receiving end though, suffering defeat at the hands of R.S. Santhosbaala of Chennai.

There was comparative calm in the girls section.

Tamil Nadu’s J. Janani held fourth seed Devangi Patankar to a draw.

The top two seeds — Pon N. Krithikha of Chennai and Kanuri Tejaswi of Andhra — cruised along to emerge among the 17 leaders with full two points.

The results (round two):

Boys: Navalgund Nagarajan (Kar) 2 bt S.P. Sethuraman (TN) 1, Kaushalendra Kumar (Bih) 1 lost to Aditya Udeshi (Mah) 2, M.R. Lalith Babu (AP) 1 lost to Viani d’Cunha (Kar) 2, Sayantan Das (Ben) 1 lost to S. Nitin (TN) 2, K. Priyadarshan (TN) 2 bt Tejas Ravichandran (TN) 1, Vishnu Sharon (TN) 1 lost to Debashis Das (Ori) 2, Mullick Saikat (Ben) 1 lost to M. Shyam Sundar (TN) 2, Prasanna Rao (Mah) 2 bt D. Yashas (Kar) 1, Sauntra Ritwan (JK) 1 lost to N. Srinath (TN) 2, Hemant Sharma (Del) 2 bt Prathik Patil (Mah) 1, R.S. Santhoshbaala (TN) 2 bt Swayams Mishra (Ori) 1.

Girls: Pon N. Krithikha (TN) 2 bt Supriya Joshi (Mah) 1, Shaati Majumder (Ben) 1 lost to Kanuri Tejaswi (AP) 2, J. Janani (TN) 1.5 drew Devangi Patankar (Mah) 1.5, R. Bharathi (TN) 2 bt Pavitra Jagtap (Kar) 1, Sukanya Dutta (Ben) 2 bt Nishtha Gupta (Raj) 1, A.Akshaya (TN) 1 lost to Shalmali Gagare (Mah) 2, J. Mohana Priya (TN) 2 bt S. Anushya (TN) 1, J. Sahari (AP) 2 bt C.H. Savetha (TN) 1, Sonakshi Rathore (Raj) 1 lost to M. Khushboo (TN) 2, Astha Gupta (Raj) 2 bt V. Sree Lakshmi (AP) 1, B. Taraswiniee (Pon) 1 lost to A. Niji (Ker) 2, J. Saranya (TN) 2 bt J.G. Niveditha (TN) 1.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper