Arvind Aaron

Chennai: Second seed and International Master B. Adhiban of Chennai was held to a draw by unknown N. Madhan of Tamil Nadu in the opening round of the Canara Bank National sub-junior chess championships which commenced at the Jawaharhal Nehru Stadium here on Tuesday.

Adhiban went for a sacrifice of two pieces for a rook and two pawns early in the opening but took a draw by repetition in 23 moves after he found his king was too exposed to carry on the game.

Madhan is rated 571 Elo points below so this was an upset of sorts.

However, top seed S.P. Sethuraman also of Chennai won on the 19th move against Karma Pandya of Ahmedabad. Third seed and International Master norm holder Aditya Udeshi of Mumbai took time but outclassed Sumit Kumar Jha of Tamil Nadu by winning a rook for knight and the game.

In the girls’ section, top seed Pon N. Krithikha won a long minor piece ending in 61 moves by promoting new queen against Krushna Mishra of Orissa. Six seed N. Anusha of Andhra dropped a knight to lower rated Diotima Dutta Gupta.

A total of 150 boys and 94 girls are in the fray in this 11-round Swiss format contest. Ten rounds remain to be played.

Earlier, in the morning, T.P.M. Mohideen Khan, Minister for Environment and Sports inaugurated the event.

International Master Manuel Aaron, General Secretary of the Tamil Nadu State Chess Association, appealed to the State Government to treat chess on par with other Olympic sports which receives greater support.

The Minister inaugurated the fully air-conditioned All India Chess Federation office at No.70, Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Chennai 600 003.

He also cut the ribbon to open the Hall Of Chess which is now run by the Tamil Nadu State Chess Association at the Nehru Stadium.

The results (round one): Boys: S.P. Sethuraman (TN) bt Karma Pandya (Guj), N. Madhan (TN) drew B. Adhiban (TN), Aditya Udeshi (Mah) bt Sumit Kumar Jha (TN), K. Ramalingam (TN) lost to M.R. Lalith Babu (AP), S. Nitin (TN) bt N. Rajkumar (TN), Debashis Das (Ori) bt R.Ganesh (TN), V.R.Varman (TN) w/o Mehar Chinna Reddy (AP), M. Shyam Sundar (TN) bt R. Hariharan (Pon), Ram Gupta (Del) lost to Prasanna Rao (Mah), N. Srinath (TN) bt Mugil Jayavel (TN).

Girls: Krushna Mishra (Ori) lost to Pon N.Krithikha (TN), Kanuri Tejaswi (AP) bt U. Ashwini (TN), Devangi Patankar (Mah) bt A. Sowmia (TN), S. Sowjhanya (TN) lost to R. Bharathi (TN), N. Anusha (AP) lost to Diotima Dutta Gupta (Ben), Vini Mary Thomas (AP) lost to Sukanya Dutta (Ben), Shalmali Gagare (Mah) bt V.S.S. Priya (AP), B. Aarthi (TN) lost to J. Mohana Priya (TN), Shikha Shah (Guj) lost to R. Abirami (TN).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper