Madurai: Three goals by Nasurudin and a brace by Prabakaran helped Sethu Football Club crush TVS Soccer Club 5-1 in the Madurai District Football Association’s ‘A’ division league for the Hi-Tech Arai Trophy at MGR Race Course Stadium here on Tuesday.

The only goal for TVS Soccer Club was scored by Velmurugan.

In another match, Usilai Soccer Club registered a 7-3 win over P.G. Govindarajan Memorial Club.

Packiaraj and Manikandan scored three goals each and Selvam netted one for Usilai Club. Lognath Balaji, Arun Prakash and Manikandan reduced the margin.

Mercury Legends wins

At Madurai, Mercury Legends Cricket Club defeated Babu Academy by 15 runs in the Madurai District Cricket Association’s second division league, which commenced on Sunday.

The scores: Mercury Legends CC 169 for nine in 30 overs (Ganesh 46) bt Babu Academy 154 for nine in 30 overs (Arjun 57).

Jeyakumar shines

At Dindigul, S. Jeyakumar’s 69 helped Mansur Youngsters Cricket Club chalk out a four-run victory over Jahir Cricket Club (Vedasandur) in the Dindigul District Cricket Association’s first division league on Tuesday.

The scores:

First division: Mansur Youngsters CC 178 in 39.5 overs (S. Jeyakumar 69, M. Thanga Paramasivam four for 17) bt Jahir CC (Vedasandur) 174 in 29.5 overs (M. Thanga Paramasivam 42, S. Muthu Kumar 49, A. Mani four for 26).

Second division: Samiyar Thottam CC 134 for six in 20 overs (Bruce Lee 66) tied with PSNA CET 134 for nine in 20 overs (C.R.G. Baskar 55, Stephen four for 29).

Samiyar Thottam was declared winner on losing less wickets.

Third division: Mansur CC 174 for nine in 22 overs (Vadivel four for 37) bt Aadhith CC 120 for eight in 22 overs (K. Madhusudhan 50).

Suresh scalps five

At Tuticorin, Suresh’s five for nine and Krishnan’s 53 helped Mohideen Higher Secondary School (Kayalpatnam) defeat St. Thomas HSS (Veerapandiapatnam) by 55 runs in the TDCA inter-school cricket tournament on Tuesday.

The scores: Mohideen HSS (Kayalpatnam) 152 for five in 25 overs (Krishnan 53, S.M.A. Kabir 42) bt St. Thomas HSS (Veerapandiapatnam) 97 in 22.3 overs (Suresh five for nine, Fayaz three for 14); St. Thomas HSS (Tuticorin) 143 for eight in 25 overs (Prakash three for 34) bt Samy Ayya Nadar HSS (Nagalapuram) 26 in 10 overs.

Thiagarajar triumphs

At Madurai, host Thiagarajar College of Engineering retained the team title defeating PSNA Engineering College (Dindigul) 3-1 in the final of the Anna University Zone IX inter-engineering college tennis tournament recently.

The results: Final: TCE bt PSNA CE 3-1 (Kannan lost to Dilson 4-8; Abishek bt Ranjit 8-0; Abishek/ Kannan bt Dilson/ Ranjit 8-7; Abishek bt Dilson 8-4).

Semifinals: TCE bt Alagappa Chettiar CE (Karaikudi) 3-0; PSNA CE bt Sethu IT (Kariapatti) 3-0.

AKCE is champion

At Kovilpatti, Arulmigu Kalasalingam College of Engineering (Krishnankovil) beat Mepco Schlenk Engineering College (Sivakasi) 3-0 for the team title in the final of the Anna University Zone X inter-engineering college tennis tournament recently.

The results:

Finals: AKCE (Krishnankovil) bt Mepco Schlenk EC (Sivakasi) 3-0. (Prabu Kanna bt Shyam Sundar 6-4, 6-3; Harsha Vardhana bt Ajay 6-1, 6-1; Prabu/ Harsha bt Shyam/ Antony 7-6, 6-4). Third place: Dr. Sivanthi Adhithanar CE (Tiruchendur) bt National EC (Kovilpatti) 3-2. Semifinals: Mepco bt NEC 3-0; AKCE bt Dr. Sivanthi Adithanar CE 3-0.

Thiagarajar CE wins

At Madurai, host Thiagarajar College of Engineering won the title for the third successive year defeating Government College of Engineering (Salem) 15-10 in the final of the Anna University inter-zone kho-kho tournament recently.

The results: Final: TCE bt Govt. CE (Salem) 15-10. Third place: Jerusalem CE (Chennai) bt Infant Jesus EC (Tuticorin) 14-13.

Semifinals: TCE bt Jerusalem CE 16-8; Govt. CE (Salem) bt Infant Jesus EC 12-10.

Mini-marathon race

The second mini-marathon race, organised by Chatrapati Shivaji Sports Club, will be flagged off from the Perur Pateeswarar Temple in Coimbatore on Oct. 21 at 7.30 a.m. For details, contact Sivakumar (98423 59387), Srinivasan (98422 88312), Karunkaran (94433 59575) or Manoharan (98437 67633).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper