HYDERABAD: Andhra Pradesh Social Welfare Residential School (Shaikpet) won the T. Gopal Trophy under-16 volleyball tournament defeating Vidyanagar 25-17, 25-20 in the final at Musheerabad Playground here on Friday.

Earlier in the semifinals, Vidyanagar defeated SAAP (Fateh Maidan) 25-15, 25-18 while APSWRS got the better of DAV School (Safilguda) 25-18, 25-16.

Big win for Cal PS

Cal Public School ‘A’ recorded a thumping, 357-run win over Sacred Heart in the inter-schools (under-15) cricket tournament here.

The scores: inter-school (under-15) tournament: Jubilee Hills PS 163 (Abhinav 49, Sheshank 44, Jairam three for 10) lost to ICFAI 166 for four (Sameer 60, Sayeed 54).

Bhavan’s Sainikpuri ‘B’ 326 for two (Chaitanya 130, Bhargghav Rayudu 112) bt DRS High School 133 (Alok 52 not out, Sandeep 30, Bhargav Rayudu three for two).

Cal Public School ‘A’ 443 for one (Rayan Koundinya 177 not out, Yathin Reddy 161 not out, Rohit Rajan 35) bt Sacred Heart 86 (Chaitanya Reddy five for 16).

Bharati Vidya Bhavan 84 (Hari 40, Akshay five for 15, Md.Akram four for nine) lost to St. Peter’s HS 86 for one ( Mohd. Shaibaaz Tumbi 52 not out).

St. Dominics 35 (Zeeshan Ali three for 13, Adarsh three for one) lost to St.Andrews HS 36 for no loss.

St. Patricks HS 199 (Sachin Joshi 101, Noor Mohd 30, Chandu 31 not out, Sai Teja three for 33, Vishnu three for 32) bt Model Mission HS 31 (Syed Noor Mohd. Ahtesham eight for 15).

Secunderabad Public School 134 (Rohan 31, Chintal Sateesh four for 20) bt Mahabodhi Vidyalaya 88 (R.Sai Kumar 37).

St. Andrews ‘B’ 70 lost to Gowtham Model School 61 for three.

Boys Town 44 lost to St. Anthony’s H S 45 for two.

Cal Public School ‘B’ 99 lost to All Saints ’A’ 103 for five.

Double for Ramesh

Dr. Ramesh Babu won the singles and doubles events in the Happy Golfers tournament at Bison Training Centre (Bolarum).

Ramesh Babu won the singles title with 39 points. G.S. Krishnan with 35 points and a better back score took the second spot ahead of M. Ramesh (35 points).

In the doubles category, Dr. Ramesh Babu and Anil Reddy won the title with 70 points while Ram Shankar and M. Ramesh with 64 points were second.

Ashok steals the show

B. Ashok of Hyderabad 10K won the boys under-18 three km event in the Hyderabad 10K Road Races organised by Hyderabad District Athletics Association at Lal Bahadur Stadium here.

The results: Men: 1. B. Ramesh (Hyd 10K) , 2. Veeranna (PG College), 3. Venkateswara Rao (Postal).

Under-18: 1. B.Ashok (Hyd 10K), 2. Sk.Mujahid (Hyd 10K), 3. Suresh (Hyd 10K); U-15: 1. B. Arun Kumar (Hyd 10K) , 2. Mohan (All Saint’s), 3. Harish (GNHS); U-12: 1. Syed Ahmed (Hyd 10 K) , 2. Anand (Hyd 10K), 3. Shiva Ram (RMHS). Masters: 1. Bhaganna (CISF) , 2. Moula Ali (Forest), 3. D. Venkatratnam (Hyd).

Women: 1. V. Lavanya (SCR) , 2. Rajyalaxmi (SCR), 3. Sulochana (Hyd 10K); U-18: 1. Uma Maheshwari (Hyd 10K) , 2. Usha (Hyd 10K), 3. Heena Kausar (Hyd 10K); U-15: 1. Neharika (Keyes HS) , 2. Sk.Shabnam (Apollonia), 3. Annapurna (Hyd 10K); U-12: 1. Arshya Begum (Hyd 10k) , 2. Soundarya (RMHS), 3. Pramada (All Saint’s). Masters: 1. Padmavathi (Hyd) , 2. Shanta Venkatswamy (Hyd), 3. Sirsilla (Hyd).

Indians win series

Indian Lawyers won all their three matches against Sri Lanka lawyers in the invitation three-match cricket series played in Colombo last week-end. Krishna Reddy was named ‘player of the series’ for his consistent batting.

The scores: First match: Indian Lawyers 243 for six in 30 overs (Krishna Reddy 62, Deepak Tiwari 42) bt Sri Lanka Lawyers 162 (Muhanayake 41, K.Sunil Goud four for 27). Second match: Indian Lawyers 228 for seven (K.Sunil Goud 52, Krishna Reddy 87) bt Sri Lanka Lawyers 223 for eight (Kausalya 56, Maneesh 60).

Third match: Indian Lawyers 190 (Kuldeep Parihar 45, Gopendernath 42) bt Sri Lanka Lawyers 160 (Eraj 56).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper