NEW DELHI: Punjab dethroned Delhi in the men’s section and proved superior to Chandigarh in the boys’ final in the North Zone inter-state badminton championship at the Karnail Singh Stadium here on Sunday. Delhimanaged to retain the women’s title at the expense of Chandigarh.

The results (finals): Men: Punjab beat Delhi 3-2 (Mayank Behal bt Himanshu Kharbanda 21-15, 21-18; Lakhwinder Singh lost to Tanveer Gill 20-22, 18-21; Opinder Pal Singh and Mayank Behal bt Abhishek Ahlawat and Nitin Mahiwal 21-13, 21-10; Pranav Chopra lost to Rohit Ranaut 10-21, 21-12, 7-21; Pranav Chopra and Raj Kumar bt Davinder Dhillon and Tanveer Gill 21-18, 19-21, 21-17).

Women: Delhi beat Chandigarh 2-0 (Mohita Sahdev bt Navita Thakur 21-10, 21-15; Gauri Chopra and Meenakshi Nair bt Navita Thakur and Manju 17-21, 21-12, 21-14).

Boys: Punjab beat Chandigarh 2-1 (Pranav Chopra lost to Oscar Bansal 16-21, 21-18, 22-20; Pranav Chopra and Raj Kumar bt Ankur Sharma and Aman Sethi 21-8, 21-9; Raj Kumar bt Tushar 21-9, 21-13).

Girls: Haryana beat Delhi 2-0 (Pallavi Aggarwal bt Akansha Nehra 19-21, 24-22, 24-22; Pallavi Aggarwal and Anuradha bt Akansha Nehra and Shreya Aggarwal 21-10, 21-16). — Special Correspondent

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper