Mysore Division dethrones Bangalore City

print   ·   T  T  
Sushmitha, who set a meet record in 400m.
Sushmitha, who set a meet record in 400m.

Our Correspondent

Mysore: Mysore Division dethroned Bangalore City from the highest pedestal at the Dussera Games, with some splendid performances from their athletes in the women’s section and in the women’s team events at the Chamundi Vihar stadium here on Friday.

After the conclusion of all the games at this edition of the three-day event, Mysore Division amassed 96 points to pip Bangalore City to the second spot with 89 points.

The day also saw three meet records being established to make it five for this year’s edition. Mysore Division’s Thippavva Sannakki, a product of DYSS, Mysore and coached by former International Damodar Gowda, ran in style to win the women’s 5000m with a new meet record timing of 18:15.8s erasing the old record of Shradharani Desai of Bangalore Rural (18:42.60s) set in 2007.

Later on, Mysore Division’s Sushmitha Devadas brought some cheer to the local crowd by winning the 400m event leading from start-to-finish. She clocked 57.3s to erase the 18-year-old record of 57.59s set by Sridevi of Mysore Division in 1991.

Jayaprakash C. Shetty of Bangalore City ran a fast paced race to clinch the 400m gold with a record timing of 48.3s erasing the previous mark of 49.25s set by Ranjith Rai of Mysore Division in 2008.

Double for Sonith

The 22-year-old Sonith Mendon from Mangalore, coached by Lakshman Rai and running for Mysore, bagged a brilliant sprint double. Sonith Mendon, slow to get off the blocks, caught up with the fancied G.N. Boppanna of Bangalore City after the 50m and later on blitzed through to finish with a timing of 10.60s.

He equalled the meet record of 10.60s set by Clifford Joseph Joshua of Bangalore City in 1997. Sonith had won the 200m on the first day of the meet.

Nirupama Sundaraj of Bangalore City emerged the fastest woman of the meet, winning the 100m with a timing of 12.4s. Shreema Priyadarshini of Mysore Division came a close second.

Shreema Priyadarshini, the Southern Railway athlete from Mangalore representing Mysore Division, emerged the undisputed women’s individual champion with 18 points, the men’s honours were shared by M.D. Manjunath, Sonith Mendon (both Mysore Division) and M. Arshad of Bangalore City with 10 points each.

The results: Athletics: Men: 100m: 1. Sonith Mendon (Mys) 10.60s (EMR); 2. G.N. Bopanna (City); 3. K.N. Aiyappa (City). 400m: 1. Jayaprakash C. Shetty (City) 48.3s (NMR); 2. Ranjeet Rai (Mys); 3. Jaideep (City). 5000m: 1. M.D. Manjunath (Mys) 15:44.1s; 2. S.G. Harish (Rural); 3. M.S. Rakesh (Rural). Javelin: 1. Sharath Rao (City) 69.12m; 2. N. Raghu (Rural); 3. M. Thippanna (Bgm). High jump: 1. B.S. Raghavendra (Rural) 1.90m; 2. Supreeth (Mys); 3. Abhishek N. Shetty (Mys). 4x100m relay: 1. Bangalore City, 2. Belgaum.

Women: 100m: 1. Nirupama Sundaraj (City) 12.4s; 2. Shreema Priyadarshini (Mys); 3. Rebecca Jose (City). 400m: 1. Sushmitha Devadas (Mys) 57.3s (NMR); 2. Barani C. Gowda (City); 3. T.R. Shruthi (Rural). 5000m: 1. Thippavva Sannakki (Mys) 18:15.8s (NMR); 2. Saroja Gowda (Mys); 3. Ashitha Suresh (City). Javelin: 1. Shahejahani (Mys) 36.04s; 2. Jayashree Nimbalkar (Bgm); 3. Lakshmi K. Bagadi (Bgm). High jump: 1. Aishwarya (City) 1.47m; 2. Pavithra (Mys); 3. Sumithra (Mys).

Veterans (above 50): Men: 5km walk: 1. K. Manjunatha (Rural) 30:11.3s; 2. Subba Setty (Mys); 3. Sannamallappa (Rural). 100m: 1. B.K. Somashekar (Mys) 13.2s; 2. K.G. Dasegowda (Mys); 3. H.R. Narayana Swamy (City).

Women: 5km walk: 1. B.C. Parvathi (Mys) 36:40.2s; 2. Gladis Pais (Mys); 3. M.R. Sannananjamma. 100m: 1. Sarojini Soons (Mys) 16.3s; Gladis Pais (Mys); 3. M.R. Sannananjamma.

Body-building (height category): Dasara Shree 2009- Manoj Kumar, Bangalore. Powerlifting : Men: 82.5kg: 1. H. Dadapeer (KSP, Bangalore); 2. S. Madhu (Davanagere); 3. Suresh Padukone (Bangalore). 75kg: 1. N. Anand (Davanagere); 2. Tippusultan (Bangalore); 3. C. Krishnakumar (Ujire).

Swimming: Individual championship: Men: V. Abhishek (City, 40pts); Women: Pratima Kollali (City, 30 pts).

Gymnastics: Individual championship: N. Lokesh (Mys, 64.225pts); Women: Soumya Wagogi (Bgm, 45.10pts).

Team Events: Men: Tennis: Mysore; Ball badminton: Bangalore Rural; Badminton: Belgaum; Football: Bangalore City; Handball: Bangalore City; Hockey: Bangalore City; Kabaddi: Bangalore City; Kho-Kho: Mysore; Throwball: Mysore; Volleyball: Bangalore Rural; Gymnastics: Mysore; Basketball: Bangalore City; Athletics: Bangalore City (61 pts).

Women: Tennis: Mysore; Ball badminton: Mysore; Badminton: Mysore; Basketball: Bangalore City; Hockey: Mysore; Kabaddi: Bangalore City; Kho-Kho: Mysore; Table tennis: Belgaum; Handball: Mysore; Throwball: Mysore; Volleyball: Mysore; Gymnastics: Belgaum; Athletics: Mysore (77 pts); Overall championship: Mysore Division, 96 points (Men 40, Women 56).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper



Recent Article in SPORT

Williamson ton puts New Zealand on top

: Kane Williamson’s century gave New Zealand a significant lead over England in the first Test at Lord’s on Saturday.New Zealand w... »