Principal Correspondent

KOCHI: Some of the leading captains of Indian cricket, including Nari Contractor, Ajit Wadekar, Chandu Borde, Sunil Gavaskar, Gundappa Vishwanath, Bishen Singh Bedi and Dilip Vengsarkar will be in Kochi on October 2 for the Castrol Awards for Cricketing Excellence function.

The Castrol awards have been given to some of the outstanding performers of the year the last few years but this time, the main theme will be the celebration of 75 years of Indian Test cricket.

And some of the captains who shaped and steered Indian cricket will be honoured at the function at the Le Meridian hotel here on Tuesday night, a few hours after the India-Australia one-dayer at the Nehru Stadium.

However, it is not clear whether former captain Kapil Dev, who was named as the Indian Cricketer of the Century by Wisden in 2002, would attend the function.

Among the current cricketers, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly and Virender Sehwag will also be feted at the ceremony.

This year, the outstanding performance award will be presented to Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s team which won the inaugural ICC World Twenty20 Championship.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper