Madurai: Tiruchi had mixed fortunes in the fifth State senior inter-district throwball championship at Thirupuvanam, near here, on Tuesday.

While Tiruchi successfully retained the men’s title with an easy victory over Coimbatore, Chennai had to fight hard before prevailing over Tiruchi for retaining the title in the women’s section.

The results:

Men: Final: Tiruchi bt Coimbatore 15-9, 15-12. Third place: Karur bt Chennai 15-8, 15-8. Semifinals: Coimbatore bt Karur 15-12, 15-9; Tiruchi bt Chennai 15-5, 17-15. Quarterfinals: Chennai bt Kanyakumari 15-4, 15-7; Coimbatore bt Theni 15-4, 15-11; Karur bt Kanchipuram 15-7, 15-4; Tiruchi bt Tiruvallur 15-11, 15-10.

Women: Final: Chennai bt Tiruchi 15-11, 16-14. Third place: Krishnagiri bt Tiruvallur 15-8, 15-5. Semifinals: Chennai bt Krishnagiri 15-4, 10-15, 15-12; Tiruchi bt Tiruvallur 15-9, 15-6. Quarterfinals: Chennai bt Karur 15-4, 15-5; Krishnagiri bt Kanchipuram 8-15, 15-11, 15-12; Tiruchi bt Coimbatore 15-6, 15-9; Tiruvallur bt Virudhunagar 15-11, 9-15, 15-4.

Manigandan posts win

At Tuticorin, thirteen-year-old S.S. Manigandan of Madurai caused an upset by defeating fourth-seeded C. Praveen Kumar, also of Madurai, in the second round of the SPIC 20th FIDE-rated chess tournament organised jointly by SPIC Sports Council and Tuticorin District Chess Association on Tuesday.

Top-seeded International Master, D.P. Singh (Southern Railway) had to use all his resources to score over Kamala Kannan of Chennai after playing an equal position for most part of the game.

Meanwhile, International Arbiter R. Anantharam of Sivakasi, who is doing duty in the tournament, was appointed as one of the arbiter for chess for the second Asian indoor games at MACAU (China) from October 26 to November 3.

Important results:

Second round: M.S. Kamala Kannan 1 lost to D.P. Singh (S. Rly.) 2; S. Mari Arul (S. Rly.) 2 bt S. Sathyanarayanan (Che) 1; R. Kannan (Palani) 1 lost to R.R. Laxman (Che) 2; C. Praveen Kumar 1 lost to S.S. Manigandan 2; R. Visalatchi (Svk) 1 lost to A. Shankar (S. Rly.) 2; P. Phoobalan (Cbe) 1.5 drew with P. Rajendran (Mdu) 1.5; Gnana Karpaga Vignesh (Nmk) 1 lost to P. Maheswaran (Svk) 2; C. Natarajan (ICF) 2 bt N.R. Abhinav (Che) 1; S. Vigneshwaran (Nmk) 1.5 drew with Vinoth Kumar (Che) 1.5; T.J. Suresh Kumar (ICF) 2 bt M. Karunakaran (Tnv) 1.

Sourashtra College wins

At Madurai, Sourashtra College ‘A’ beat S. Vellaichamy Nadar College (Nagamalai) by six wickets in the final of the Laagans 2007 southern districts inter-collegiate cricket tournament on Tuesday.

The scores: SVN 167 for six in 25 overs lost to Sourashtra ‘A’ 168 for four in 23 overs (Ruban 38).

Special award: Man of the Series: Murugesh (Sourashtra).

Rajasekar shines

At Karaikudi, five goals, including a hat-trick, by Rajasekar and one goal each by Saravanan, Sathish Kumar and Yuvaraj helped Alagappa University College of Physical Education thrash Syed Hameed College (Kilakarai) 8-0 in the Alagappa University inter-collegiate hockey tournament on Tuesday.

In another match, Raja Duraisingam Government Arts College (Sivagangai) posted a 4-0 win on Alagappa Government Arts College. Vinoth, Kannan, Mariselvam and Naresh scored.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper