Coimbatore: A fine knock of 99 by B.S. Arun Prasad and an equally brilliant effort by Bharathiraja (93 not out) enabled Sri Ramakrishna Cricket Trust (SRCT) score a nine-wicket win over Tirupur Cricket Club in the Canara Bank-CDCA first division league for the Pricol Trophy here on Sunday.

The scores:

First division: Tirupur CC 228 for nine in 50 overs (C.R. Kiruba Shankar 51) lost to Sri Ramakrishna CT 232 for nine in 38.5 overs (B.S. Arun Prasad 99, Bharathiraja 93 not out). Fourth division: Tirupur CA 223 for nine in 50 overs (S. Santhosh 53) lost to Lucky Young Star CC 225 for six in 45.4 overs (S. Karthik 49, P. Marudanayagam 65); Miracle CC 236 in 49 overs (Rajadurai 43, Francis Nelson 44, Sathish Kumar 42) bt Rainbow Jeeva CC 220 in 48.1 overs (R. Manikandan 63, M. Yogeshwaran five for 58); MEC CC 131 in 31 overs (T.S. Rajendran five for 19) lost to Ramnagar CC 133 for five in 35.4 overs (J. Balaji 51 not out); South Indian Manchester CC 263 in 48.3 overs (S. Ashok 90, P. Vijay Kumar 40) bt CIT CC 141 in 37.4 overs.

Easy for SNR Sons

SNR Sons (Coimbatore) defeated NGM College (Pollachi) by 76 runs in the Bharathiar University inter-collegiate inter-zone knock-out cricket tournament here on Sunday.

The scores: SNR Sons 170 for three in 25 overs bt NGM (Pollachi) 94 for nine in 25 overs (M. Rubin four for 20); Government Arts (Coimbatore) 152 for four in 25 overs (Muthukumar 50) bt Kongu CAS (Erode) 137 for nine in 25 overs; STC (Pollachi) 113 in 23.3 overs lost to Sri Ramakrishna Mission Vidyalaya CAS 116 for two in 15.3 overs (Balusamy 44 not out, Thyagu 36 not out); PSG CAS 162 for seven in 25 overs (Karthikeyan 34) bt Erode Arts (Erode) 126 for eight in 25 overs (Sugan 38, Karthik three for 24).

SRKV is champion

Sri Ramakrishna Mission Vidyalaya scored a five-wicket win over favourite SNR Sons College to emerge the ‘A’ Zone champion of the Bharathiar University inter-collegiate cricket tournament at the varsity grounds recently.

The scores: Final: SNR Sons 142 for seven in 25 overs (Arun 39) lost to SRKV CAS 143 for five in 25 overs (Thygau 37). Third place: Bharathiar University Depts. 74 in 17.2 overs lost to Dr. NGP CAS 76 for three in 22.5 overs.

Big win for GSIS

At Udhagamandalam, Good Shepherd International School coasted to a 115-run win over St. Joseph’s Boys HSS (Udhagamandalam) in the NDCA under-17 inter-school cricket tournament for the Azhar Hassan Memorial Rolling Trophy on Sunday.

The scores: U-17: Good Shepherd IS 254 for five in 40 overs (Sachin U. Betgeri 59, S.M. Saifulhaa 52, Jisto M. Shaji 60) bt St. Joseph’s BHS 139 (V. Vinu 53, R. Ranjit 40, Jisto M. Shaji five for 34).

U-15: Hebron School 77 (Sahil Sangwan four for 18) lost to Good Shepherd IS 76 for four in 6.2 overs (T. Menon three for 33).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper