NEW DELHI: The 2007 Subroto Cup football tournament will begin at the Ambedkar Stadium here on September 14 with Delhi’s Government College Co-education Senior Secondary School (Tikri) taking on Hmar Veng High School (Kolasib, Mizoram) in the opener.

The tournament will begin with the junior event in which 32 teams have been divided into eight groups. The sub-junior event will begin on September 30 with 29 school teams sending in their entries.

The sub-junior final will be held on October 15 and the junior final a day later.

In the 2006 edition, schools from Nepal won both the titles leaving Indian schools to settle for the runners-up spots.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper