NEW DELHI: Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar, has been selected to receive the Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy for its sporting achievements.

A selection committee constituted by the Association of Indian Universities (AIU) had made the recommendation based on the performance of various universities during the year 2005-06. Punjab University, Chandigarh and Punjabi University, Patiala, came second and third.

The winner of the trophy will receive a cash prize of Rs. two lakh and a rolling trophy. The second and third finishers will get Rs. One lakh and Rs. 50,000. The Award will be presented at the sports awards presentation ceremony on August 29 at the Rashtrapati Bhavan along with the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, Arjuna Award, Dronacharya Award and Dhyanchand Awards.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper