Mysore: The Mysore racing season 2007 will begin from Aug. 23 and conclude on Oct.28 according to a press release from Mysore Race Club. The Maharajas Gold Cup and The Mysore Dasara Sprint Championship will be introduced for the first time, and the prize money will be Rs.10 lakhs each. The Maharajas Gold Cup scheduled to be held on Sept.21 is a mile race for 4- year-old and over, while The Mysore Dasara Sprint Championship, run over 1,200 metres for horses 3 years old and over is scheduled to be run on Oct.19. About 700 horses are expected to participate .

The important racing days: The Mysore Million (Grade III): Aug.24.The Karnataka Racehorse Owners Association Mysore 1000 Guineas: Sept.14.The Maharajas Gold Cup: Sept 21.The F.K. Irani Memorial Gold Cup: Oct. 4. The Fernhills Palace Mysore 2000 Guineas: Oct.5.The Governors Gold Cup: Oct. 12. The Chief Ministers Gold Cup: Oct.12. The Mysore Dasara Sprint Championship: Oct.19.The Poonawalla Mysore Derby: Oct.28 The Daisy Appoo Cup: Oct.28.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper