NEW DELHI: Lightweight pugilist Satpal knocked out Pawan Kumar in the 60kg men’s final at the Delhi State boxing championship to book his berth in the Delhi team for the National championship starting here on Friday.

Satpal opened with a flurry of punches that took Pawan by surprise before he sustained a head injury.

The referee immediately stopped the contest. All the winners will form the Delhi team at the Boxing Nationals to be held here from August 25 to 31.

While the boxers were squaring-off in the ring, another battle was brewing outside it.

The boxers representing SAI Training Centre (STC) and the Indian Boxing and Sports Academy (IBSA) came to the blows when the result of the middleweight final between Ashok and Sanjeev was announced. Ashok of IBSA was declared 3-2 winner based on the manual count of the scores given by the five judges.

The matter was settled after a brief commotion before the result of the super-heavyweight final between Parveen and Naveen Rao ignited yet another altercation.

Rao representing Central Delhi won 3-2 over IBSA’s Parveen and that set off a free-for-all. Many sustained injuries and police rushed in to take control of the situation. At least five people and a few officials of the Delhi Amateur Boxing Association (DABA) were taken to the All India Institute of Medical Sciences for medical aid.

The results (finals):

Men: 48kg: Vikrant Kalosia w.o Bhupender, 51kg: Rahul bt Vijay Kumar Sharma disq., 54kg: Vivek bt Sandeep Rawat 5-0, 57kg: Ajit Singh bt Manoj Kumar RSC (OC) IV, 60kg: Satpal bt Pawan Kumar KO (H), 64kg: Baljit Rathi bt Azad 4-1, 69kg: Ashwani Gahlot bt Ramesh Arya 5-0, 75kg: Ashok bt Sanjeev 3-2, 81kg: Jasvir bt Subhash 5-0, 91kg: Manoj Kumar bt Harish Solanki RSC (OC) I, Plus 91kg: Naveen Rao bt Parveen 3-2.

Junior: 48kg: Sandeep Malik bt Vivek Rawat RSC (OC) III, 51kg: Pawan bt Neeraj RSC (OC) I, 54kg: Amit Kumar bt Devender RSC (OC) I, 57kg: Naveen Tehlan bt Guddu Yadav RSC (OC) I, 60kg: Praveen Kumar by Naveen Tokas RSC (OC) ), 64kg: Pradeep Kumar bt Somvir RSC (OC) II, 69kg: Ravi Chaudhary bt Sachin Mor 2-1, 75kg: Ajay Kumar bt Barbhya Kumar disq. IV, 81kg: Ankur bt Sandeep RSC (OC) III. — Principal Correspondent

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper