Sports Correspondent

Sivakasi: Unseeded S. Dharshini of Virudhunagar shocked top seed Anees Kowser of Chennai to enter the women’s singles final of the Yonex Tamil Nadu State senior-ranking badminton tournament here on Saturday.

In the men’s quarterfinals, Jerry Martin of Thiruvallur caused an upset, defeating second seed Shyam Sunder of Chennai.

The results: Men (quarterfinals): Siddarth Jain bt R. Mahendran 21-3, 21-7; V. Velavan bt Geoffary 21-10, 21-14; N. Venkatesh bt B. Ashok 21-14, 21-17; M. Jerry Martin bt Shyam Sunder 21-17, 20-22, 8-2 (conceded).

Women (semifinals): S. Dharshini bt Anees Kowser 21-13, 16-21, 22-20; G. Amrin Mubarak (Che) bt Archana Devi (Che) 21-8, 21-13.

Quarterfinals: Anees Kowser bt K. Kaavya Lakshmi 21-6, 21-13; S. Dharshini bt B. Akila Devi 21-19, 18-21, 21-15; Archana Devi bt K. Suneri 21-13, 16-21, 21-19; G. Amrin Mubarak bt R. Hamsica 21-13, 21-14.

Tejas wrests lead

Tejas Ravichandran of Chennai outplayed overnight leader Praveen Kumar of Vellore to take the sole lead with 5.5 points in the boys’ section at the end of the sixth round of the TN State u-13 chess championship at Palani on Saturday.

J. Mohana Priya of Kanchi is the sole leader with 5.5 points in the girls’ section.

Important results (sixth round): Boys: M.C. Praveen Kumar (4.5) lost to Tejas Ravichandran (5.5); Akash Pe Iyer (4) lost to Srikanth Ajay (5); P. Lokesh (4) lost to A.R. Osama Salim (5); M. Swaroop (4.5) drew with S. Anand Raj (4.5); Neil Franclin (4) lost to R. Vishnu Sharon (5); D.S. Shashaank (5) bt M. Prabhu (4); G. Akash (5) bt S.S. Manigandan (4).

Girls: J. Mohana Priya (5.5) bt J. Saranya (5); R. Bhuvaneswari (4) lost to J. Janani (5); U. Ashwini (4) lost to Srija Seshadri (5); S. Gayathri (4) drew with S. Apoorva (4); B. Swathy (3.5) lost to A. Akshaya (4.5).

SAI Hostel moves up

SAI Hostel (Myladuthurai) entered the quarterfinals of the annual Ravi memorial trophy State-level open basketball tournament defeating last year’s runner-up Maan Mark BC (Madurai) 92-85 in a thrilling encounter at Dindigul on Saturday.

At the end of the regulation time the teams were level 65-65. At the end of first extra-time the teams were locked 77-77 before SAI won 92-85 at the end of second extra-time.

The results (pre-quarterfinals): SAI, Myladuthurai 92 bt Maan Mark 85; AJBC, Chennai 73 bt Sethu, Madurai 62; Sathya Bama University 57 bt Armed Police, Madurai 33; Sports Hostel of Excellence, Chennai 82 bt Karur 64; Salem 70 bt AND BC, Tiruchi 44; JPR Engg., Chennai 66 bt Karur Tex 21; Port Trust, Tuticorin 51 bt Sivagangai 28; TNSP, Chennai 56 bt Breeze, Dindigul 39.

DSAC in final

Dr. Sivanthi Aditanar College (DSAC), Tiruchendur, entered the final of the Anna University zone X cricket tournament with a narrow two-run win over P.S.R. Engineering, Sivakasi at Krishnankovil, near Srivilliputhur, on Saturday.

The scores: At Krishnankovil (zone X semifinals): DSA College 132 for eight in 20 overs bt PSR Engg. 130 for seven in 20 overs.

At Sivakasi: Mepco Schlenk 187 for five in 25 overs (Kailasnath 97) bt National, Kovilpatti 105 in 22 overs.

At Karaikudi (zone IX quarterfinals): Shanmuganathan 151 for eight in 25 overs bt Vickram CoE 97 in 22.4 overs; Syed Ammal 133 for eight in 25 overs (Baskara Sethupathy 48) lost to TCE, Madurai 134 for eight in 24.4 overs (Maruthiram 41); Raja CoE, Madurai 107 in 24 overs lost to SIT, Kariapatti 108 for one in 11.3 overs (T. Silambarasan 53); Sudharsan CE, Pudukkottai 125 for nine in 25 overs bt PTR CE, Madurai.

Ashwin takes pole

Championship leader Ashwin Sunder of Team Rams Racing won pole position for both races in the Formula LGB Hyundai class, with the third round of the JK Tyre National racing championship getting underway at Irungattukottai over the weekend. He went on to do that in the qualifying races for the Formula Swift class as well.

Pune racer Rayomand Banajee of Team Prime Racing captured pole position for both races in the Formula Rolon Chevrolet.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper