Special Correspondent

BANGALORE: S. Harshith of Vidyaniketan School, Hebbal and K. Sangeetha of Aradhana in the boys’ under-14 and girls’ under-16, respectively walked away with the best boy and girl athletes titles in the KPMG Cadet Bangalore City Inter school athletics championship at the Sree Kanteerava stadium here on Saturday. Both were presented with a purse of Rs. 1,500.

The day witnessed four new records being rewritten and two equalled. As has been the practice 10 top physical education teachers, instrumental in producing athletes were also presented with a purse of Rs. 1,000 each. They are: B.V. Harish Kumar (St. Charles), K. Gopal Gowda (Vidyashilp), S. Krishnamurthy (Vidyaniketan, N.R. Ramesh (Innisfree), S.H. Kareappa (The Brigade0, D. Devaraj (Bishop Cotton), Santosh Adam (Sophia), D. Robert (Sacred heart), S.G. Rajashekarappa (The New Cambridge) and S.S. Patil (Indiranagar HS).

The results (winners only):

Boys: Under-8: 50m: N. Sai Naveen (Mothery Mary) 8.1 secs. Under-10: 400m: Kshithij (Poorna Prajna) 1:11.1 secs; 8x50m relay: Parikrama 1:01.8 secs (NMR-Old: 1:02.5, Vidyaniketan). Under-12: 600m: Michael Bikashi (St. Johns) 1:53.7 secs; Long jump: Gavin L Douza (Bishop Cotton) 4.59 mts; 80m: Gavin L D’Souza (Bishop Cotton) 10.9 secs. Under-14: 800m: Parmesh (Jain Vidyaniketan) 2:25.5 secs; Long jump: Avinash Choudhary (BGS Int.) 5.30 mts; 4x100 m relay: Parikrama 49.9 secs (NMR: Old: 50.8 secs, Cathedral). Under-16: 100m: S. Deepak (Bapu ) 11.2 secs (EMR); High jump: D.S. Abhishek (Sri Kumarans) 1.60 mts; 4x100m relay: FAPS 47.2 secs.

Girls: Under-8: 50m: S. Bindushree (New St. Marys Public) 8.4 secs. Under-10: 400m: Sahana S Hulmani (Sri ananaskshi ) 1:18.8 secs; Long jump: D. Bhumika (Vidyaniketan) 3.40 mts; 8x50m relay: Vidyaniketan 1:04.4 secs (NMR: Old — 1:06.0 secs, own). Under-12:80m: Praneetha Pradeep (Bethany) 11.0 secs (NMR: Old — 11.1 secs, K. Chayya / N. Anvitha); 600m: N. Vinutha (Sew St. Joseph) 1:56.1 secs. Under-14: 800m: R. Pooja (Innisfree) 2:32.0 secs; Shot Put: Simonella D’Souza (St. Charles) 8.14 mts; 100m: Amulya Arun (Mary Immaculate) 13.0 secs; 4x100m relay: Jain Vidyaniketan 56.0 secs. Under-16: Shot put: B. Sadhana (Mary Immaculate) 9.39 mts; 4x100m relay: Baldwin 54.6 (EMR).

Special prizes: March Past trophy: 1. Mary Immaculate, 2. Vincent (Banaswadi), 3. National Public (Koramangala).

Best Boy: S. Harshith (Vidyaniketan). Best Girl: K. Sangeetha (Aradhana).

Team championship: Boys: Under-8: Vidyaniketan & Mother Mary — 11 pts each. Under-10: Parikrama —10 pts. Under-12: Bishop Cotton-13 pts. Under-14: Vidyaniketan — 13 pts. Under-16: BNMS & Bishop Cotton — 10 pts each.

Girls: Under-8: New St. Joseph — English — 10 pts. Under-10: Vidyaniketan —16 pts. Under-12: Vidyashilp Academy — 16 pts. Under-14: Jain Vidyaniketan —11 pts. Under — 16: Baldwin Girls — 9 points.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper