BANGALORE: Overage issue marred what was otherwise a perfectly organised KPMG-Independence Day road races by the Bangalore Sports Club, here on Sunday. Nearly 12 runners were disqualified, including the top four in the boys’ under-11 category.

R. Rajeev of St. Ann’s HS clocked 13:21.4 seconds to claim the top honours in the boys’ under-16 category while the corresponding honours in the girls’ section was bagged by V. Uma of APSR High School with a time of 19:05.7 seconds.

The top ten runners in each section were awarded cash prizes, trophies and certificates.

Shekhar Sethu, MD, Herballife Int. Pvt. Ltd, was the chief guest and gave away the prizes.

The results:

Under-16 (4-km): Boys: 1. R. Rajeev (St. Ann’s) 13:21.4s, 2. R. Anil (St. Ann’s) 14:16.9, 3. I. Amaran (The Best) 14:29.4.

Girls: 1. V. Uma (APSR) 19:05.7s, 2. S. Ramya (APSR) 19:12.5, 3. K.V. Brinda (Mahatma Children’s Home) 19:32.6.

Under-14 (2-km): Boys: 1. B.N. Paramesh (Jain Vidyanketan) 6:46.0s, 2. A. Punith (Prajwal HS) 6:51.0, 3. G.P. Naveen (St. Joseph’s) 7:09.1.

Girls: 1. C.A. Nithya (Jain Vidyaniketan) 7:30.9s, 2. S. Rashmitha (Bharathiya Sanskrita Vidyapeet) 7:33.7s, 3. R. Pooja (Innisfree) 8:02.3.

Under-11 (1-km): Boys: 1. M.S. Srikanth (New St. Joseph’s) 4:44.8, 2. M. Sunil (New St. Joseph’s) 4:59.3, 3. M. Madhu (Mother Mary) 4:59.7.

Tenpin bowling

The Karnataka State Tenpin Bowling Association (KSTBA) will be hosting the 19th National Tenpin Bowling Championship for the second successive year and fourth time in six years, from August 6 to 12. However, the venue has shifted to the Star City Bowling Centre from the last two championships — Amoeba Bowling Centre.

Karnataka’s Srinath Pobbathi and Sabeena Saleem from Tamil Nadu will head the men’s and women’s challenge, which boasts of a field of 64 and 20, respectively.

Srinath, practicing at the venue for over three hours each day looked very optimistic of defending his title.

Sabeen is likely to encounter tough competition from Karnataka’s Pratima Hegde, two times bronze medallist.

The men’s field looks open with former Commonwealth gold medallist Shaikh Abdul Hameed (Delhi) being a strong contender. TN’s Dinesh Kumar is another contender for the title along with a host of young hopefuls from Karnataka, who have been training under Malaysian coach Jimmy Lee, for some time now.

The men’s section will begin competition from Monday (August 6) and will play under the ‘long oil’ and ‘short oil’ condition for 36 games over the next six days to determine the top six who will vie for a shot at the title. The top six will play on round robin basis and the accumulative pinfalls over the 42 games will determine the champion.

The women’s event will be played over 30 games.

DGP and IGP K. Srinivasan formally inaugurated the championship with Mr Karthik Chidambaram, as Guest of Honour.

Navneeth triumphs

A.R. Navaneeth and R. Madhuri emerged champions in the junior boys’ and junior girls’ categories respectively at the State-ranking badminton tournament which concluded here on Sunday.

The results (finals): Boys: A.R. Navaneeth bt V. Akhil 14-16, 12-10, 7-11, 11-9, 11-4, 14-12.

Girls: R. Madhuri bt N. Poojitha 5-11, 14-12, 11-9, 11-7, 10-12, 11-5.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper