BANGALORE: V.K. Verma, President of the Badminton Association of India, has been elected as the secretary-general of the Badminton Asia Confederation (BAC) at its Annual General Meeting held in Kuala Lumpur, on Sunday. Mr. Verma’s term is for four years, from 2007 to 2011. Mr. Sutiyoso of Indonesia was elected as the President.

The new office-bearers are: President: Sutiyoso (Ina); Vice-Presidents: Liu Fengyan (Chn), Mehdi Karbasian, Gandi Sulistiyanto (Ina), Naqi Mohsin (Pak), Mohammad Rashid Al-Abed (Jor), Amanda Weerasinghe (Sri); Secretary General: V.K. Verma (Ind); Treasurer: Kim Hak Suk (Kor).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper