Pune: The 29-day Pune Monsoon racing season will be held from July 26 to October 27. This year the RWITC, Marketing and Media Working Group led by Mr. Vivek Jain has a reason to smile as it has achieved an all time high in sponsorships, which is Rs. 65 lakhs. The total advertised prize money is Rs. 5,40,55,000, which is nearly 30 per cent up on last year.

As Pune city has received sufficient rainfall it has helped the race grass track look greener. The sand track is same like last year and the morning exercise of the horses will not be affected by the rains. There are seven first time sponsors — M/s. Chateau Indage, Diageo India Pvt Ltd, PRA Realty (I) Pvt Ltd, Capricorn Stud Farm, Goel Ganga Developments, (Amanora) City Corporation Ltd and Casino Goa. Diageo India is sponsoring a full weekend with six sponsored races to be promoted as the Johnnie Walker race day.

The stellar attractions are: Chantilli August Handicap (Aug. 5), Smirnoff Black Russian Trophy (Aug. 11), Smirnoff Black Trophy (Aug.11), Johnnie Walker Black Label Trophy (Aug. 11), Johnnie Walker Red Label Trophy (Aug.11), Johnnie Walker Green Label Trophy (Aug.11), Johnnie Walker Gold Label Turf Club Trophy (Aug.11), PRA Independence Trophy (Aug.15), F. D. Wadia Trophy (Aug.19), Capricorn Stud Eve Champion Trophy (Aug. 26), General Rajendrasinhji Trophy (Sept. 1), Ganga Melrose Million (Sept. 2), Southern Command Gold Trophy (Sept. 9), S. A. Poonawalla Million (Sept. 16), Piaggio Ape’ Colts’ and Fillies’ Stakes (Sept. 23), Amanora Trophy (Sept. 30), Casino Goa Fillies’ and Mares’ Stakes (Oct. 7), Nanoli Stud Pune Derby (Oct. 14), N. H. Dhunjibhoy Sprint Championship (Oct.14), Funtacy Ice Creams Juvenile Stakes (Oct. 21) and Oxford Properties R.W.I.T.C Ltd Invitational Trophy (Oct.27).

Racing dates: July 26 and 27; August 4, 5, 11, 12, 15, 19, 20, 25 and 26; September 1, 2, 8, 9, 15, 16, 22, 23, 29 and 30; October 6, 7, 13, 14, 20, 21, 26 and 27.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper