Madurai: Swamy Sivananda HSS, Coimbatore, (SSHSS) registered two wins in the semifinal round robin league of the sixth annual T.V. Sundaram Iyangar Memorial Trophy State-level inter-school volleyball tournament at Madurai on Wednesday.

The results (league): Swamy Sivananda HSS bt PKD HSS, Pollachi 21-25, 23-25, 25-23, 25-17, 16-14; GHSS, Perundurai bt Khajamian HSS, Tiruchi 12-25, 25-20, 25-22, 24-26, 15-7; PKD HSS, Pollachi bt GHSS, Perundurai 25-22, 21-25, 25-16, 25-18; Swamy Sivananda HSS bt Khajamian HSS, Tiruchi 25-21, 25-17, 25-15.

Volleyball tournament

The 18th annual Muthiah Ambalam Memorial Trophy State-level inter-collegiate volleyball tournament will be organised by American College at Madurai on August 9 and 10.

Entries close on July 25. For details, contact W. Chester Manuel, Director of Physical Education, American College, Madurai, 625002, ph: 94437 96119 or M. Balakrishnan, Assistant DPE, ph: 94420 24445.

Selection trials

The trials to select the Virudhunagar District under-22 cricket team will be held at TRV Matriculation HSS ground, Sivakasi, at 9 a.m. on July 22.

Those born on or after 1.9.1985 are eligible. For details, contact S. Surendran, secretary, VDCA, ph: 94420 52665 or R. Thiviaprakasam, joint secretary, ph: 94431 20019.

Cricket trials

Trials to select the Vellore District Cricket Association under-22 team for the inter-district tournament will take place at EID Parry Grounds, Ranipet, on July 22 at 9 a.m. Call S. Mohan (99946-28388) for details.

Rakesh, Yazhini win titles

K. Rakesh (4 points) and B. Yazhini (3) won the under-19 title in the boys’ and girls’ sections respectively at the chess tournament, conducted by the Vijay Anandh Chess Academy, in Tiruchi.

Final standings:


Under-19: 1. K. Rakesh, 2. A. Suryaprakash, 3. S. Viswam; Under-13: 1. T.K.S. Arjun, 2. K.S. Kamalshankar, 3. T.K.S. Abhishek; Under-11: 1. R. Anirudh, 2. V. Pramodh, 3. V. Krishnasrinivasan; Under-9: 1. V.S. Rohith, 2. Prasanna Srinivasan, 3. V. Srivatsan.


Under-19: 1. B. Yazhini, 2. R. Aarthi, 3. S. Krithika; Under-13: 1. P. Sangeetha, 2. R. Monika, 3. R. Bhuvaneshwari; Under-11: 1. Srividya, 2. K. Sivamahima; Under-9: 1. A. Nithila, 2. S.S. Hashini, 3. R. Janani; Open: 1. R. Balasubramanian, 2. R. Anand.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper