Bangalore: Canara Bank emerged the champion in The Hindu Trophy cricket tournament that concluded here on Thursday.

In the final at the Chinnaswamy Stadium, Canara Bank defeated Rail Wheel Factory (RWF) by five wickets and with three balls to spare. Chasing RWF’s 134 for eight in 25 overs, Canara Bank reached the target in 24.3 overs.

The match, originally a 30-overs-a-side game, was reduced to 25 overs each after a persistent drizzle delayed the start by an hour. Canara Bank’s skipper C. Raghu won the toss and elected to field. RWF had a messy start as three wickets fell with just 16 on the board.

Early breakthrough

Raju Bhatkal and Mansur Ali Khan got the early breakthroughs for Canara Bank before RWF found some runs through cameos by skipper Cheluvaraj (37), S.P. Manjunath (30) and Yere Goud (24).

The Canara Bank chase stumbled in the beginning as opener Bharat Chipli had a terrible mix-up that left his partner Balaji stranded.

Later, Chipli top-edged a pull off Asghar Pasha and C. Raghu too fell early to leave the score wobbling at 40 for three. However Raju Bhatkal (47 not out) and Deepak Chougule (47) tided over the early breaks and shared a 69-run fourth wicket partnership that helped Canara Bank inch closer to victory.

Chougule eventually fell in attempting to slice one over point and it was left to Bhatkal and Vijay Bharadwaj to usher in the victory with a flurry of big hits.

The Hindu Bangalore edition’s Regional Manager, N. Rajashekar, distributed the trophies and prizes in a function that was also graced by KSCA Vice-President, Jagannath, and Assistant Secretary, Sudhakar Rao.

The scores:

Final: RWF 134 for eight in 25 overs lost to Canara Bank 138 for five in 24.3 overs (Raju Bhatkal 47 not out, Deepak Chougule 47).

Special awards: The Sportstar Man of the Final: Raju Bhatkal. Best batsman: Shoaib Manager. Best bowler: H. Surendra; Best all-rounder: C. Raghu.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper