Sports Reporter

Coimbatore: Jaipur's Amanjyot Singh tamed the wind and the opposition to emerge the Category `A' (15-17yrs) champion of the Sunfeast Southern India junior / sub-junior golf championship at the par-72 Coimbatore Golf Club course here on Friday. Amanjyot carded a round of 74 to win the title by a comfortable seven-stroke margin.

Amanjyot, who shared the lead with Chandigarh's Rahul Bakshi, planned his day pretty smartly. He decided to play safe and par all the holes in the front nine and challenge Bakshi on his return journey. It worked well in the first but the second and fourth turned out to be troublesome. He dropped shots on both occasions but bounced back beautifully with a birdie on the par-five 5th. Just when the road looked smooth, the Jaipur youngster bogeyed the ninth to make the turn at two-over.

In the second nine, Amanjyot birdied the 12th and three putted the 14th for a bogey and a tournament tally of 294 for the title.

"It was anybody's game till the last hole, but when I hit the second shot on the green in the last segment I knew the title was mine," said an elated Amanjyot.

Bakshi falters

Bakshi, on the other hand, had a miserable outing on the tenth. "Though I did not play the first nine alright the gap between me and Amanjyot was just a stroke. I was confident of making amends on my return journey. But crushed my hopes in the 10th when I pulled my second shot left," said Bakshi, who faltered at the same hole last year.

K. Rajagopal, President, Coimbatore Golf Club, gave away the prizes.

The scores (after 72 holes):

Category-A (15-17 yrs): 294 Amanjyot Singh (73, 79, 68, 74), 301 Rahul Bakshi (72, 72, 76, 81); 304 Rashid Khan (78, 74, 77, 78).

Category-B (13-14 yrs): 310 Chikkarangappa (80, 74, 72, 84); 312 Ashbeer Saini (78, 74, 79, 81); 317 Khalin Joshi (84, 78, 78, 77); 320 Raghav Bhandari (77, 79, 87, 77).

Category-C (11-12 yrs): 333 Rahul Ravi (87, 83, 85, 78); 335 Tarundeep Singh Chadha (88, 81, 80, 86); 346 Abhishek Kuhar (84, 89, 85, 88); 354 Roshan Raj (91, 88, 85, 90).

Category-D: Under-10 yrs (after 54 holes): 250 Vidit Singh (82, 81, 87); 258 Piyush Sangwan (88, 87, 83); 268 Prakhar Asawa (86, 92, 90).

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper