Tuticorin: Classic Cricket Club won the `A' division title, while ASKR Cricket Club and Ramesh Flowers Cricket Club won the `B' and `C' division titles respectively in the Tuticorin District Cricket Association's cricket leagues for 2006-2007, which concluded here recently.

The last two teams in the `B' division and `A' division will have to play in the `C' and `B' division and the first two teams of the `B' and `C' division will play in the `A' division and `B' division respectively in the coming year.

Final placings: `A' division:

1. Classic CC (14 points); 2. Power CC (12); 3. DCW Sports Council (8); 4. Gavaskar CC (6); 5. Seconds CC `A' (6); 6. PUSCO CC (4); 7. Sealines CC (4); 8. Youth CC (2).

`B' division:

1. ASKR CC (14); 2. Analmin Nagar CC (12); 3. Youngwaves CC (8); 4. Kayal SC (6); 5. Pearl City CC (4); 6. Youngstar CC (4); 7. United SC (4); 8. SPIC Central Sports Council (4).

`C' division:

1. Ramesh Flowers RC (12); 2. Seconds CC `B' (10); 3. Thermal RC `A' (10); 4. Popes CC (8); 5. Thermal RC `B' (8); 6. VOC CC (6); 7. TAC Sports Council (2); 8. Adithanar CC (0).

John in last eight

At Madurai, John Peter of Railway Institute defeated Safeer of Pot Black Centre 47-37, 38-30 to enter the quarterfinals of the third annual District-level snooker tournament on Saturday.

Other results: Pre-quarterfinals:

Raja (BK) bt E.B. Kuppusamy (UC) 73-26, 72-35; Y. Goothoose (PB) bt M. Karthik (Rl) 57-46, 28-9; Dani (PB) bt J. Karthikeyan (PB) 49-44, 41-7.

First round:

Gopinath (PB) bt Baskar (Rly. Inst.) 47-37, 38-30.

Kannan shines

An all-round performance by R. Kannan (five for 20 and 52 not out) helped Supersonic CC carve out a four-wicket victory over Eleven Bullets CC in the Madurai District Cricket Association first division `B' zone league recently.

The scores: First division `B' zone: Eleven Bullets CC 125 in 31.1 overs (R. Kannan five for 20) lost to Supersonic CC 128 for six in 35.2 overs (R. Kannan 52 not out).

Third division:

Majestic Toddlers CC 79 in 19.4 overs bt King's CC 76 in 13.5 overs.

Kandaraja is the best

At Tiruchi, D. Kandaraja of Samson Industrial School, Tirunelveli, bagged the individual championship in athletics in the State-level inter-industrial schools tournament on Saturday.

The results (all winners): 100m:

D. Kandaraja (Samson IS, Tirunelveli); 200m: K. Ramesh (Green Valley IS, Madurai); 400m: Ilayaraja (Adisankarar IS, Tiruchi); 800m: Pandi (Samson Industrial School, Tirunelveli); 1500m: Vetrimani (Thyagarajar IS, Coimbatore); Long jump: D. Kandaraja; High jump: D. Kandaraja; Shot put: Rajesh Kumar (Arayas IS, Tirunelveli); Javelin: Ganapathynarayanan (GKD, Coimbatore).

Overall champions:

Tiruchi and Tirunelveli (37 points each).

SSP scrapes through

At Salem, SSP CC posted a one-wicket win over Rock CC in the TNCA-SDCA first division cricket league recently.

The scores: First division:

Tigers XI w/o Liberty; KPSC 181 for nine in 41 overs (Raja 51) lost to Students Sr. 182 for eight in 31 overs (V. Padmanand four for 60); Rock 181 lost to SSP 182 for nine in 35.1 overs (Suresh Kumar 51, Raviverman CC 44); Vampire w/o Chandramouli.

Second division:

RTP w/o SCC; Parks XI CC 149 in 35 overs (Sulaiman 56) lot to Devaram 150 for three in 31.3 overs (Arul 60 not out, Gajendra 55 not out).

Third division:

Maratha 246 in 44 overs (Shamiullah 114, R. Ravishankar four for 43) bt Youngstar 156 in 44 overs; S. Ra CC w/o PowerC; Gandhiji w/o. Metro.

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper