Udhagamandalam: Mechanics Cricket Club defeated HPF Staff Club by 24 runs in the TNCA-NDCA `B' division league for the Murali Babu Rolling Trophy at the Laidlaw Memorial School grounds here on Wednesday.

The scores: `B' division: Mechanics CC 211 for eight in 40 overs (Tinku Prashid 57, S.R. Natarajan 54) bt HPF Staff Club 183 for nine in 40 overs (K.S. Premnath 43 n.o.).

On Tuesday: Soraigundu Sports Stars 194 (Praveen 86, Vinod four for 40) bt Don Bradmans CC 190 (Vinod 59, Vignesh four for 40); Mechanics 169 for eight in 40 overs (B. Guruprasad 41) lost to Kotagiri SA 170 for six in 36 overs (M. Manikandan 55 n.o.).

`C' division: Rising Stars CC 206 (S. Mathiazhagan 54) bt Rockers CC 122 (J. Vijayan five for 18); Green City CC 143 bt Galaxy CC 93.

AITA Talent Series

The Coimbatore District Tennis Association will conduct the AITA Talent Series tennis tournament at the CDTA courts in R.S. Puram from May 28 to June 1. The qualifiers for the singles will be held on May 26 and 27. Contact R. Krishnan at 9443286207 on or before May 18. Sports Reporter

More In: SPORT | Today's Paper